We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, student style accommodation, but clean”
Review of Once in Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Once in Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We must have stayed at a different hotel to many of the reviewers. We travelled as a family as part of a tour group and stayed in two connecting rooms (2nd floor) which brought me back to my college days. The rooms were extremely basic and and had the bare essentials (even had little study desks!) and were extremely weathered needing renovation - particularly the bathrooms (see attached photos). There's no lift so beware if you have a number of heavy bags to take up as there's nobody to help you.

In their PR leaflet they have photos of a very modern looking room and after quizzing the receptionist we were told that there were only 1or 2 such rooms in the building but they would eventually all be like that...

I certainly wouldn't recommend the hotel for a family stay (we also stayed in a much better place - admittedly not in the city centre for a cheaper price) but it would make a decent place to stay if you are travelling on your own as its extremely central for restaurants a short walk to Long street with its bars (would recommend) . Got to admit that breakfast was decent and room in which it was served was renovated.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dreamoftravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
There are newer reviews for Once in Cape Town
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

453 - 459 of 538 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2011

what a great experience ,i have had in cape town mostly made possible by saasveld lodge.
what a superb staff n' management!!!!!!!!!!!!
i see u David
luv u all!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: i can assure u every room @saasveld are great
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thabiso p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Knowing the area and looking for a weekend special (after one hard first night at a Backpacker on Long Street) I was disappointed to pay 550 ZAR per night for something that I would grade to go for 350 ZAR (person/night). NO single rates, only room rates ... so not a good place for single travellers. Staff is OK, but comparing 550 ZAR (person/night) the place is overdue for refurbishment: outside (broken furniture) and inside (water marks on ceilings, mini-TV with poor reception of local programs, etc.). Positive is indeed the convenient location ... the place is just overpriced (for budget individual travellers).

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

I was placed with an agency in Cape Town for 3 months and they housed me in Saasveld Lodge. I have to say the location is amazing, its a short walk to a number of restaurants, supermarkets and other amenities. The Staff were welcoming and friendly and helpful. The rooms were tidied and cleaned every morning. The beds are very comfortable as well
.
From my room have an amazing view of Table Mountain.

I would definately be coming back here to stay if I come back to Cape Town.

Room Tip: Rooms with odd numbers have view of table mountain
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mkaddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

The Saasveld is just fine for a basic, clean place to stay. There's really no ambiance but it's in a good location in the center of town. I don't recommend it if you are looking for more personal attention or a little luxury. We had no problems with the staff and the breakfast is quite good and filling. It was nice that they had free parking.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzg_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

I spent 4 days in Cape Town at a beautiful guest house. I arrived at Saasveld to meet my tour group. The vibe was completely different than where I initially stayed. If you want to be in the center of town with loads of bars and restaurants than this is likely your place. My room was tiny and very stuffy, but clean. The walls are thin so I heard everyone until they found their way into their rooms. For 1 night it was just fine. Internet cost around $10 USD/hour. You pay by usage (this was new to me). The staff was very nice and breakfast was filling. If you are like me and want personal attention (and don't care for nightlife so much), there are many beautiful guest houses outside the city center that will help arrange all your day to day activities at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingOYEster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2010

A weell located place to stay. Excellent breakfasts, secure parking and friendly staff. Plenty of restaurants, bars and an internet cafe within 5 minutes walk (OK at night).

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chepstow_Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,412 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 111 in Cape Town Central
361 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#9 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 111 in Cape Town Central
994 reviews
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 128 in Cape Town Central
499 reviews
City Bowl
The Backpack
The Backpack
#4 of 128 in Cape Town Central
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Once in Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Once in Cape Town

Address: 73 Kloof Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Saasveld Lodge)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $31 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Once in Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the foot of the world-renowned Table Mountain, in the centre of Cape Town City and located in the upmarket suburb of Gardens. Comfort at a most affordable price! Step out our front door and find yourself on vibrant Kloof Street, showcasing an array of world class restaurants including Kitchen Kink Boutique, Asoka, Yindees and our sister restaurant Hudsons Burger Joint. Once in Cape Town welcomes you with attentive staff that take pride in providing personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Once in Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saasveld Hotel Cape Town Central
Saasveld Lodge
Once In Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing