We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Once in Cape Town
Nearby Hotels
$119
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cape Heritage Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$121
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$761
$428
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$123
$115
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
$671
$648
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$201
$186
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$171
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
$550
$423
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Derwent House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$155
$150
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (604)
Filter reviews
604 results
Traveler rating
342
154
60
26
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
342
154
60
26
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree activitieslong streetdorm roomkloof streetfree breakfastown bathroomclean roomscommunal kitchentable mountainlocation is greatbars and restaurantsnice breakfastrooftop bara great place to stayenjoyed my stayyogurtcentral location
Filter
Updating list...
509 - 514 of 604 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2011

what a great experience ,i have had in cape town mostly made possible by saasveld lodge.
what a superb staff n' management!!!!!!!!!!!!
i see u David
luv u all!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: i can assure u every room @saasveld are great
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thabiso p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Knowing the area and looking for a weekend special (after one hard first night at a Backpacker on Long Street) I was disappointed to pay 550 ZAR per night for something that I would grade to go for 350 ZAR (person/night). NO single rates, only room rates ... so not a good place for single travellers. Staff is OK, but comparing 550 ZAR (person/night) the place is overdue for refurbishment: outside (broken furniture) and inside (water marks on ceilings, mini-TV with poor reception of local programs, etc.). Positive is indeed the convenient location ... the place is just overpriced (for budget individual travellers).

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

I was placed with an agency in Cape Town for 3 months and they housed me in Saasveld Lodge. I have to say the location is amazing, its a short walk to a number of restaurants, supermarkets and other amenities. The Staff were welcoming and friendly and helpful. The rooms were tidied and cleaned every morning. The beds are very comfortable as well
.
From my room have an amazing view of Table Mountain.

I would definately be coming back here to stay if I come back to Cape Town.

Room Tip: Rooms with odd numbers have view of table mountain
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mkaddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

The Saasveld is just fine for a basic, clean place to stay. There's really no ambiance but it's in a good location in the center of town. I don't recommend it if you are looking for more personal attention or a little luxury. We had no problems with the staff and the breakfast is quite good and filling. It was nice that they had free parking.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzg_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

I spent 4 days in Cape Town at a beautiful guest house. I arrived at Saasveld to meet my tour group. The vibe was completely different than where I initially stayed. If you want to be in the center of town with loads of bars and restaurants than this is likely your place. My room was tiny and very stuffy, but clean. The walls are thin so I heard everyone until they found their way into their rooms. For 1 night it was just fine. Internet cost around $10 USD/hour. You pay by usage (this was new to me). The staff was very nice and breakfast was filling. If you are like me and want personal attention (and don't care for nightlife so much), there are many beautiful guest houses outside the city center that will help arrange all your day to day activities at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingOYEster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews