We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Mountain Backpackers
1 review
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

I stayed here for a couple of weeks and the service was excellent. The staff were very friendly (Candice and Sandy). They assist you quite well and are quite accommodative! Would for sure stay with them when I return to CT! The location is perfect as its on Long street. The best part is the balcony and in the evenings when they put the lights on, it feels like Christmas!

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Shravanth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    16
    12
    5
    11
See reviews for
2
12
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

i enjoyed my stay in blue mountain backpackers very much . it is sparkling clean, one can use the kitchen any time as well as the living room. big terasse with a nice view at long street and free coffee or tea all day long. but most important : the young women who work there are extremly helpful, joyful and made me just feel so compfortable .
things need not get stolen. there is a safe where i kept my notebook and moneybelt in and i could take it out whenever i wanted to , no problem at all, in the room i kept my laguagge locked . it takes responsibility of oneself , particular if one knows where one is ( budget place in long street ) to use the facilities provided , such as a safe .
i can highly recommend this place - it is beautiful in all regards !

Room Tip: depends what one wants and how much one is willing to spend
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chintamani88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

My boyfriend and I had an awesome time here, I would recommend it to EVERYONE of all ages. The staff, Candice in particular, were brilliant and honestly could not have been any friendlier or any more helpful, from booking tours to just chilling with us on the spectacular balcony having a beer. The rooms are basic, but everything you need. There is a fully equipped kitchen, which we used quite a bit, as the balcony was such a treat to enjoy over dinner. You couldn't ask for a better location, smack bang in the middle of town with the magnificent Table Mountain right behind you. The way the hostel is laid out in an old historic building, creates a real "family feel" where we met up with other guests everyday in the common room area or balcony, swapping stories of what we had been up to all day. A little bit noisy, but hey, what do you expect in the middle of a city. We will defiantly be back again !!!!

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room, ask to have a room at the back of the building (as in not facing long st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChloeVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

Don't stay there! During my first night, someone stole my Iphone out of my bag (I had a room to myself) and the staff was not helpful at all when I went to talk to them about my missing phone. It was as if this happens all the time and there was nothing they could do.

And the service was terrible. When I first came I asked many questions but they didn't seem to want to help me. And if you are carrying heavy bags you have to walk up many stairs.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siitam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

I stayed at the Blue Mountain Hostel because it had the most affordable single private room I could find at short notice. If you want to be close to the bars and clubs on Long Street, the location is ideal, and the staff are friendly enough. The room was rather disappointing; it had potential, but the sheets were grubby, there was no curtain, and the room was cold. The shared bathrooms, however, have been redone and are very nice. You will need earplugs to block out the noise from outside and a face-mask if you want to sleep in past 7am owing to the lack of curtain. Also there is no free wifi and that which is provided is, according to the receptionist, so expensive that no-one has ever used it before. Cape Town has all these boutique backpackers going up which are much nicer, but also much more expensive than Blue Mountain.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2009

Blue Mountain Backpackers is in a great location with friendly and helpful staff. Overall I had a great experience. The place seemed relatively clean, but could have used some paint and freshening up. Our room walls were a bit dirty and the floor tiles were peeling up. Bedding seemed clean but was a bit dingy. Showers and bathrooms were co-ed. If you looked up at the walls a bit of mold was growing. Lots of hot water, but be careful, it's VERY hot. Don't forget your towel. They have some you could borrow, but bringing your own would probably be the best bet. Rooms don't have much ventilation and can be loud if Long Street is busy. The balcony was wonderful to chill and enjoy drinks. For the price the place is a good value and great location.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kide0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2009

Everythink was OK :)
Cleanless, staff, rooms, location, ....

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvelineKRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.1 mi away
Long Street Backpackers
Long Street Backpackers
#34 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Daddy Long Legs Self-Catering Apartments
Daddy Long Legs Self-Catering Ap...
#77 of 125 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.5 mi away
HomeBase Cape Town Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
FlatRock Suites
FlatRock Suites
#37 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Unique Lodge
#322 of 498 in Cape Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
1.4 mi away
A Sunflower Stop
A Sunflower Stop
#7 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mountain Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mountain Backpackers

Property: Blue Mountain Backpackers
Address: 208 Long Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Blue Mountain Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Mountain Backpackers Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing