We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unreliable, very rude staff... not worth it!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Long Street Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Our booking was cancelled without ANY confirmation less than a few hours before we were supposed to book in. The staff was exceptionally rude and unhelpful about the situation. We were given the attitude that we were graced to even be considered to stay in this backpackers in the first place and that their cancellation of our booking was somehow our fault. This kind of shocking service should not be rewarded with loyalty... take a stand and stay away from this place that will let you down just to make a profit!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank EmmaMariaSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 144 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2011

This hostel has a very central location near 24 hr web access and a tasty inexpensive Indian restaurant. Staff was friendly and helpful enough and the place was clean. I also really liked the feel of the common rooms that felt like home with a large bookcase and some old-timey chairs that reminded me of home. Did have an unfortunate situation where I lost my key deposit because reception opened an hour later on the day of my departure, but this is partially my fault for being unaware.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stoberc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

There are definitely better backpackers in Cape Town, but if you want a clean room and a bed near the party, LSB is a good choice. The rooms were quite cold during the winter months, but the staff were very willing to provide extra blankets. Kitchen was clean and big. The balcony over long st. made a great hang out spot (plus the in-house bar!). Location can't be beat.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
Thank knrose29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Excellent place if you're student ready for a party, or even just a plain hippie. The staff are wonderful, helpful and always there to help you with your traveling needs. Don't expect to get much sleep as there's so much noise from all the parties.

Room Tip: It's a place to sleep not be pampered over
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucyfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2010

If you are looking for a quiet place in Cape Town, stay away from Long Street, which is one of the busiest in the city. Long Street Backpackers, the first in town, is probably one of the liveliest place. The staff is always there to have a drink with you, to help you out with traveling or activities and to talk and have fun.

I had lots of fun staying there for a week.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

A nice hostel, right in the centre of Long Street. Rooms are clean and tidy, although blankets/duvets are only provided at extra cost. Good atmosphere with nice communal areas. After midnight, guests are moved onto a balcony that looks right out onto Long Street so you can get some sleep too!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

Long Street Backpackers was a great place to be based for a few days in Cape Town. The staff we friendly, helpful, and a fantastic resource for advice, bookings, etc. The location is amazing - in the heart of all the nightlife and many fantastic restaurants, whether you're looking for a game restaurant, out of this world Italian, or a quiet cafe. There is a lot of activity on the street outside and so it's not the most quiet of locations. I am very noise-sensitive when I sleep and I was not much bothered by the noise level. As with most backpackers locations, there is no A/C here so it was quite hot. The place is clean enough, but there were bedbugs, unfortunately. The "bar"/ front desk is a good place to grab a cheap beer or cider- R10. The courtyard is a pleasant place to relax and read a book while listening to the reggae they have playing during most of the day. Checkout is not until noon, which is extremely convenient. They also have a secure place to store luggage at no charge.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwilmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Never at Home Cape Town
#5 of 130 in Cape Town Central
375 reviews
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#10 of 130 in Cape Town Central
543 reviews
Big Blue Backpackers
#48 of 130 in Cape Town Central
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 130 in Cape Town Central
711 reviews
City Bowl
Cape Town Backpackers
Cape Town Backpackers
#27 of 130 in Cape Town Central
252 reviews
91 Loop
#11 of 130 in Cape Town Central
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Street Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Street Backpackers

Address: 209 Long Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $16 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Long Street Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the Cheapest beer on Long Street & a Unforgettable Experience, you've found the right place!! 'If Long Street is the heart of Cape Town, then Long Street Backpackers is the soul, overflowing with creative energy and positive vibes.' - Coast to Coast Backpackers' Guide. We were established in 1993, the first hostel on Long Street. Ever since then it has been our pleasure to offer a sociable, fun atmosphere to our guests. Our free vegetable potjie (traditional stew), every Sunday evening, should not be missed. We have a large, self service kitchen, poolroom, bar, TV room with satellite TV and two big balconies to watch the world go by. Our dorms range from two beds to a maximum of 10 beds. We also have single, double or twin rooms. We can arrange all day tours,garden route tours, adventure tours, safari's, overland trips, car rental, Baz Bus tickets and much much more from our travel desk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Long Street Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Street Backpackers Hotel Cape Town Central
Long Street Backpackers Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing