We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”
Review of Cape Cadogan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cape Cadogan
Ranked #13 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Cape Cadogan is one of my best hotel experiences ever, in 20 years of travelling and staying in large and boutique hotels around the world.

The service is outstanding. Every member of the staff is friendly, welcoming and incredibly helpful. Nothing is too much trouble and every requirment is taken care of immediately. This is my first experience in South Africa and if all the hotels are like this then I will be a very happy tourist!

The hotel itself is lovely, they have captured the essence of the grand old colonial home and turned it into a lovely little hotel. The lounge has a fire burning all day and evening. The complimentary port and sherry served after 6pm, plates of tiny cup cakes and other complimentary snacks make a quiet drink in the loung a very pleasant way to unwind after a day of sight seeing.

The rooms are plain and simply furnished and not large but comfortable and provide everything that is necessary.

The location is good; we were told to stay at the Waterfront and I am glad we came here instead. Located in the Gardens, there are lots of restaurants within a 2 minute walk of the hotel. Plus it is a less touristy and commercial area than the Waterfront.

The breakfast here is also excellent, the croissants are amazing.

If you want a great hotel experience in Cape Town you absolutely cannot go past this place

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuesdayjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (733)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

535 - 541 of 733 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2010

An absolutely incredible experience. The service was the best we have ever encountered! (without being over the top!) Nothing was too much to ask for and the hotel was extremely flexible on check in/out time. Lovely rooms and breakfast, great location. Will definitely be returning and will be booking one of the rooms with the huge bathrooms (missed out on them this time unfortunately!)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2010

The Cape Cadogan Hotel has all the charms of an intimate B&B and yet the quality of accommodation, the breakfast and, above all else, the personalised service are better than most 5-star hotels. Unlike many 'boutique hotels' which can be a bit rough around the edges, the Cape Cadogan is anythig but. The attention to detail is fantastic.
Location - A lovely, quiet residential street a few minutes' walk away from dozens of cafes and restaurants (and some very nice shops) on Kloof Street and Long Street.
The room - We were in Room 8; beautiful room with a terrace (looking out to Table Mountain) and a massive bathroom.
Breakfast - Absolutely delicious!
Service - Incredible service...very friendly, helpful and efficient. A special thanks to Dean and Kirsten for your help and hospitality.
I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zmdxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

just perfect, ower trip to CT was amazing but the Hotel was just perfect, from the warm welcome to the good recomadations(Restaurants&Trips/what to do) from the reception. The rooms are realy nice decorated and huge, breakfast is like at home and healthy. Staff is very frindly and hospitality.
thx Cape Cadagon it was amazing

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruschti81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2010

Small enchanting boutique hotel placed on the hillside of the Gardens, safe and nice quartier of cape town. great welcome, service and breakfast. we have been there for our honeymoon and all the staff made us feel like at home.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kudina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

This is a brilliant hotel. It's a very rare find - great location, great staff, great rooms, great breakfasts, but above all the ambience of the place is just right and we felt very relaxed and welcome staying here.

I think I can sum it up by saying that when I go back to Cape Town, I don't think I will want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SW75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

We had high expectations for the Cape Cadogan based on the pre-trip research we had done and we certainly weren't disappointed. Granted, being upgraded to the stunning Owner's Villa next door didn't hurt but even if we had stayed in the (luxury) room we'd booked, we think our experience would have been equally positive. We loved the location - walking just half a block to Kloof Street with its numerous excellent restaurants and shops - was a big plus after a long day of sightseeing. The personal attention from the staff and the beautifully decorated public rooms made us feel as though we were at a weekend house party. Breakfast on the patio (or inside) was quite good - fresh fruit, cereals, freshly baked muffins, cheese, meats, etc and several choices of cooked breakfast were on offer. Safe parking, too! We would definitely return here in the future!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#4 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,461 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,843 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#6 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,129 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,646 reviews
City Bowl
More Quarters Hotel
More Quarters Hotel
#12 of 112 in Cape Town Central
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Cadogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cadogan

Address: 5 Upper Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $254 - $508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Cadogan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a rare combination of historic exteriors with classic modern bohemian interiors, it was ‘Victorianised’ in 1912 and declared a National Monument in 1984. Its charm and character is matched with its desirable location amongst the popular restaurants, street cafes and stylish boutique shops of Kloof Street, the heart of Cape Town. More Cape Cadogan is owned and managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Cadogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cape Cadogan Hotel Cape Town Central
The Cape Town Cadogan
The Hotel Cape Town
Cape Cadogan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing