We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (783)
Filter reviews
783 results
Traveler rating
620
127
22
13
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
620
127
22
13
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kloof street our honeymoon table mountain hot water bottles double shower plunge pool south africa trip charming boutique hotel great boutique private patio luxury room breakfast room is small hotel first stop three nights travel agent lovely room
Filter
Updating list...
595 - 600 of 783 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2009

We went to the Cape Cadogan for our 10th Wedding Anniversary in August, just remembering to put a good review on here.
It is a fantastic place, from the second we arrive in the pouring rain, we were offered coffee/tea and asked if we would like to take them to our room - it was 9am - brilliant.
The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful - they really made out stay very special. After our 1st night out we came back at midnight to find the rose petals leading to the bath and a bottle of fizz on the bed. We were tired and a little tipsy but decided to crack open the wine, as we were on holiday and it would be rude not to drink it :)

Yes it isn't at the Waterfront, but I just don't understand why anyone would want to stay there. I hated the waterfront (spent 2 hours there), it is so not Cape Town and I guess you will miss out on so much of the city by being there. Kloof/Long Streets are vibrant, have great local restaurants/bars and oh so cheap.

The rooms are superb, we stayed in rooms 6 & 7 both had a balcony and we felt at home in this nice sized rooms. After a long long day we were bushed and just wanted to stay in for the night. Reception helped us with renting a DVD for the night and I popped along to the burger restaurant to grab 2 takeaway meals.

I had read a bad review about Room 7 on here, and when I was handed the key to room 7 I was a little worried, I didn't need to be worried at all, it is a lovely room.

It was amazing to be offered a room where we could sleep/get clean on our last day after we had checked out, since our flight wasn't until 7pm - for free.

We will stay there again and thanks to everyone there for making our holiday amazing.

Date of stay: August 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

Beautiful small hotel situated in a quiet road but still close enough to all the main attractions including many wonderful restaurants and shops. Couldn't ask for a better place to stay. Our room was really elegant and chic and the bathroom was absolutely huge with a magnificent sunken bath. Every night our maid would place home made biscuits or coconut ice by our bed and complimentary glasses of sherry or port would be waiting for us in the lounge on our return from a night out. Wonderful choice of breakfast and the best muffins that I have ever tasted. All the staff really friendly and helpful. Excellent free internet access for those who need to keep in touch with work or home. We truely loved this hotel.

Date of stay: November 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank debbieColombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

Five star rating. We traveled to South Africa as part of a 30th anniversary present to each other. We stayed at the Cape Cadogan for four days and were thrilled. The staff, especially Kristen, Dade and Andy went out of their way to make us feel at home, help us with plans for shopping, touring, taxi, bags and restaurant recommendations.

We stayed in the "Owners Villa" which was an exceptional property, complete with a full kitchen, private pool area and living room.

The staff would greet us by name and bring us coffee each morning and insure that we felt comfortable with in our surroundings. We felt treated like royalty. We had a bottle of champagne and rose pedals on our bed one night. Each night, they offer sherry or port along with nuts and chocolate.

The hotel property is well maintained and clean, the location is great- a little off the beaten path but close to great shopping and restaurants while being quiet in a residential area. Security is an issue in South Africa but the hotel has 24 hour security and we felt very safe, taking taxis at night. Breakfast was very nice with an ample assortment of cold plates and cooked to order hot items.

Without exception everyone was great and we highly recommend it.

Date of stay: October 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMorganMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

We just returned from a 5 night stay at the Cape Cadogan. We thought it was a lovely boutique hotel. Although, it was away from the waterfront, we were pleased at how close it was to Long St where a lot of the shopping is in Cape Town. It is also around the corner from the Mount Nelson Hotel and we went for high tea one afternoon. Our room was very nice with a newly renovated bathroom. We had a small terrace and opened the door which was nice for fresh air.
The breakfast was abundant and had a large variety of delicious food to choose from. In the evening there are snacks, nuts, chocolate and brandy available in the lovely living room. We used the free internet daily.
The staff is what stands out the most to me. They were extremely attentive, helpful and friendly. The manager, Andrew, was also available and visible daily. It is a peaceful, well run hotel and I would gladly return.

Date of stay: October 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Planejane955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

I will preface this review by stating that I stayed at the Cape Cadogan hotel as part of a package with the Lion Sands Ivory Lodge--complimentary two nights deluxe room at the Cape Cadogan when I book my stay in the Sabi Sands Reserve at the Lion Sands Ivory Lodge. I would likely have selected another Capetown hotel were this package not available. In any case the Cape Cadogan is a very nice boutique hotel in the Kloof district, perhaps 10min from the V&A waterfront by taxi. There are a few art dealers, bars, and restaurants along one artery adjacent to the hotel, but overall the area in which the hotel is located appears largely residential. There is no restaurant in this boutique hotel but it does offer a very nice breakfast bar and a choice of omelets/french toast/eggs made to order if desired. The staff, as expected, are very friendly and accomodating. We stayed in room 2, which is a deluxe room with a large garden patio. Apparently the difference between the deluxe and standard rooms are the size of the rooms (we had a small sitting area in ours) and the availability of a large balcony or patio. The decor and furnishings of the room was generally very nice, but I expected a plasma or LCD TV in this day and age for a boutique hotel (the room was equipped with a 19 incher that was probably ten years old). Not that we had much time to watch TV, with all the excursions scheduled around the Capetown area. As for the rest of the hotel, there is use of a laptop with wireless internet in the library, as well as a sitting area near the front gate where sherry and port are offered after 6pm. There is also a small plunge pool in the outdoor patio, but it remained unused by all guests during our stay (due to inclement weather). In short, if one is looking to stay in a a deluxe boutique hotel outside of the waterfront district (where a lot of tourists are), then the Cape Cadogan can be considered a satisfactory choice. However, there are certainly many other hotels in the Capetown area that fit this description, and I would advise due research unless there is a package involved with the Lion Sands Lodge.

Date of stay: September 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chinochulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoreHotelsandLodges, Owner at Cape Cadogan, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2009

Thank you for your comments mentioned above, i am happy to advise that all our Luxury Rooms have just had LCD TV's installed.

Regards
Robert More
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews