We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we came back”
Review of Cape Cadogan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Cadogan
Ranked #12 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Banbury
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So good we came back”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Second visit here in two years and cannot say anything bad about the hotel. We had room 8 which is upstairs and has a small balcony with views of table mountain. The room and bathroom were extremely spacious and very comfortable and the location of the hotel is superb for a wide variety of restaurants within easy walking distance. All the staff are eager to please but special mention must go to Simone who was like a ray of sunshine on some quite wet days when we were there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leswor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk J, Assistant Operations Manager at Cape Cadogan, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
It is always a pleasure to welcome guests back to Cape Cadogan! Thank you for the great review, Cemone is indeed a ray of sunshine and I will pass these kind words on to her. I hope to welcome you back to Cape Cadogan in the future.

Kind Regards,
Dirk Jacobs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    121
    20
    12
    1
See reviews for
54
524
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This small boutique hotel was perfect for our Cape Town stay. The building is beautiful, but the staff sets this hotel apart from many of the others at which we have stayed. They were friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The hotel is in a good location – away from the tourist crush but with convenient access to the major sights. One of the best things is the number of good restaurants within walking distance. These seem to be mostly family businesses with great food, in our view better than many of the big name restaurants that we also went to. Let the staff be your guide.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #1. The room was a reasonable size, but the high ceilings made the room seem bigg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBTraveler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hotel staff are very helpful, attention to detail is exceptional,breakfast was delicious, rooms are big and the the main lounge area has a fire and canapes are served each night. A shuttle runs to the V&A waterfront and there are many restaurants to within safe walking distance for dinner. We stayed 4 nights in August 2013 just wonderful

Room Tip: Highly recommend rooms on level 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenL62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at The Cape Cadogan while touring South Africa and were delighted with it. It was our home while in Capetown and has a great location. Just a few steps away you can see Tabletop Mountain. There was a wonderful lounge to have drinks with our friends before setting off during the evening. The outdoor dining for breakfast was really pretty. The food was great !! Our room was perfect, bed was very comfortable and every night upon our return to the room we found a special treat waiting for us - every day it was different! I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Capetown.

Room Tip: As far as I could see, every room had its' own merits, so I wouldn't recommend one over anot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I spent four nights at The Cape Cadogan Hotel during May, 2013. It is a beautiful property that is well run and provides lovely service to travellers needing a home away from home. I had a deluxe room that offered plenty of space for the in-room therapist who gave me some beauty treatments during my stay. I was very happy with my stay and would recommend the hotel to others. The price was also extremely competitive for the type of establishment it is.
My only concern being a single and independent traveller is that walking around Cape Town is not exactly comfortable after dark. The hotels location is about 20 minutes walk from the waterfront and being a solo female traveller who is used to walking everywhere whilst travelling I did feel self conscious and not comfortable after dark. This meant that I was constantly using taxis for getting around town which are not expensive but meant that I was not able to get a good feel of the city. Because of this I would probably stay at the waterfront next time due to the security presence which meant that I felt more confident walking around with my camera equipment and getting to and from local waterfront restaurants during the evening.
The breakfast was fantastic and a great start to my full days of sight seeing. The staff at the front desk were very helpful and always able to offer great advice during my stay.

Room Tip: The room I was in was up some stairs and out the back. During the weekend it was a little noisy bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saminmilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and stayed here after reading some of the reviews. I can't really say anything bad about it. It was a good value for the money and we loved the area we were in. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We loved the breakfast and the room we stayed in had just been redone. I would definitely recommend this place if you like boutique hotels.

The only downside to this hotel is there are only a few spaces and the rest is on street parking, but we never had any issues parking near the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, new york
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at the Cape Cadogan for two nights during our honeymoon in South Africa. It was a beautiful hotel with very friendly service. We really enjoyed the port and sherry before dinner by the fire and the very plentiful breakfast each morning. We had the upstairs room with the little balcony. The room was spacious, with a great big bathroom and had a great view of Table Mountain from the balcony. The shuttle was very helpful go get around to the waterfront and Simone was very accommodating. The personal note in our room wishing us a good honeymoon was a really nice touch. Overall, this was a very pretty hotel with great service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcg16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,402 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,833 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,539 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,262 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Cadogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cadogan

Property: Cape Cadogan
Address: 5 Upper Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Cadogan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a rare combination of historic exteriors with classic modern bohemian interiors, it was ‘Victorianised’ in 1912 and declared a National Monument in 1984. Its charm and character is matched with its desirable location amongst the popular restaurants, street cafes and stylish boutique shops of Kloof Street, the heart of Cape Town. More Cape Cadogan is owned and managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Cadogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cape Cadogan Hotel Cape Town Central
The Cape Town Cadogan
The Hotel Cape Town
Cape Cadogan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing