We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Honeymoon”
Review of Cape Cadogan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Cadogan
Ranked #13 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed here at the start of our honeymoon and this was our base for exploring Cape Town. It was a lovely spot. Friendly, but not in your face, clean, spacious room with huge bath. It was easy to travel to and from the waterfront in the free hotel taxi and the area it is in has some trendy cafes and bars.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank hifelicity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (730)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 730 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

This small boutique hotel is situated in a beautiful house in an excellent location in City Bowl area. You will find everything you need in a few steps away: supermarket, ATM, many restaurants and bars are just around the corner. The hop on hop off bus (which is a must do in Cape Town) has a stop 3 blocks away from the hotel. The service and breakfast is a 5 star. As the hotel is small (about 15 rooms), everything has a personal touch. The staff is phenomenal. Everyone is so kind and ready to help. Monica and Hilda made the best breakfast I had in my life. Pelo was such a good hostess. Thank you for the warm reception and all the wonderful advices you gave us!!! The room is very comfortable and clean, but it is not a 4.5 star. I would give 3.5 star for my room (number 5). I found it small and to simple for the hotel standards. But it is nice and very comfortable, anyways. Everything else was spot on. I would come back again and again without a doubt! It was a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: The room number 5 is probably the worst room in the hotel. It is small and just between the receptio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMRamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed in Cape Cadogan for three nights and found it to be a wonderful experience: really large and luxurious rooms, friendly and helpful staff, great location within walking distance of central Cape Town, with great views of the surrounding mountains, close to a supermarket and restaurants and terrific breakfast (food and helpful staff). The whole atmosphere was warm and welcoming. The room was well appointed, light, clean, spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was superb, with modern fittings and lots of space. We would stay at Cape Cadogan hotel again in an instant.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

It was our first visit to Cape Town and South Africa. We stayed three nights at The Cape Cadogan. We had a fabulous time. The staff were amazing, so helpful with even the smallest requests. Perfect location for some fantastic restaurants. Great view of table mountain(when the cloud lifted). Drinks by the fire before dinner, great breakfasts and a hot water bottle in your bed at night. The upstairs room at the back was lovely, had a balcony outside. More like staying in a beautiful home then a hotel. They made us feel very special. Definitely would stay there again

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryJane561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed for nights at this lovely boutique hotel. This type of hotel beats 5 star tasteless hotels hands down. If you are looking for comfort, personal treatment and staff who are only too pleased to help and advise in a more personal way then this is for you. The rooms are very comfortable and the en-suite facilities great and the freshly cooked breakfast is not for those who diet.
The hotel is conveniently situated for walking all the way in to town, via Company Gardens if you wish, or you can get the hop on, hop off "Red Bus" and spend the day getting around, including Table Mountain.
There are some good local restaurants just around the corner and the staff are happy to make recommendations.
We will for sure go back there...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrankandJ0an
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed four nights at the Cape Cadogan and loved every minute. We had a large room with a balcony looking out over the main street on the front, and the little pool and fountain on the side. The marble bathroom had twin showers and lots of hot water which was wonderful since it was quite cold and rainy while we were there. Service was outstanding, from the kitchen staff who were willing to provide any hot breakfast you could wish for to the reception staff that suggested fun places to visit and good restaurants to try. Each night the bed was turned down, and a small treat placed on the pillow. There were two cosy main floor lounges for guests to sip sherry or have a glass of wine while chatting, reading, or warming up by the fireplace. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and felt pampered. It was well worth the price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda4730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Normally we don't review anything, but at their prodding we joined trip advisor. This little hotel was nice, personal, and just the right size. It begs the question, why would you stay in a large faceless place when you can come to a place like this and feel like royalty. Wait, hasn't royalty stayed here!?!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank judycoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,440 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,620 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,813 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,879 reviews
MannaBay
#3 of 110 in Cape Town Central
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Cadogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cadogan

Address: 5 Upper Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $236 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Cadogan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a rare combination of historic exteriors with classic modern bohemian interiors, it was ‘Victorianised’ in 1912 and declared a National Monument in 1984. Its charm and character is matched with its desirable location amongst the popular restaurants, street cafes and stylish boutique shops of Kloof Street, the heart of Cape Town. More Cape Cadogan is owned and managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Cadogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cape Cadogan Hotel Cape Town Central
The Cape Town Cadogan
The Hotel Cape Town
Cape Cadogan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing