We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faded splendour? No, poor maintenance”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Cape Cadogan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Cadogan
Ranked #12 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
essex
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Faded splendour? No, poor maintenance”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We booked this hotel as we thought it would be central for restaurants, ie Kloof Street. I can only say the road it's in is a cut-through from Kloof Nek and consequently busy with cars travelling at speed at times, and we never ate in Kloof St!
It's part of the travel group, More Quarters and was staffed by various employees, so lacked the personal touch, but they were more than happy to book excursions for you. There was a lounge with 2 large settees & decanters of port & sherry on the coffee table, to encourage guests to mingle. The sitting area by reception had a computer with free wi-fi. The (tiny) pool area had 4 loungers by it, plus tables & chairs on the patio, where breakfast is taken. The breakfasts were sufficient but I didn't like the way the kitchen staff would clear the table next to you & then spray any marks with a strong chemical cleaner - not pleasant when you're eating.

Room tips: Don't have room 6. This "luxury" room had a balcony overlooking said busy road & was consequently noisy, The balcony doors & window had paint peeling off them & were difficult to shut, despite the gaps where they'd shrunk. The bathroom sink was badly stained. It was the drainage problem, though, that we refused to tolerate. When we shown this room, the receptionist apologised for (in her own words) the strong chemical smell. It was because they'd flushed them, as they did each week... hmm. We gave it a chance, but it was clear the next morning from the gurgling & different odours that there was an ongoing problem here. The young receptionist couldn't address our request to be moved & as we had an excursion booked, we said we'd sort it out on our return. In the afternoon, a different receptionist showed us to a different room.
Room 2. (also "luxury") No smells, but the bathroom sink was actually damaged - gouges out of it! It was smaller than room 6 with only 1 wardrobe, but the little courtyard was more pleasant. This was un-overlooked as it had a garage door at the rear. The main problem with this room was the paper-thin walls. It was in a short corridor opposite the reception desk so we were subsequently woken by every late-comer or early leaver.
This really needs an overhaul.

Room Tip: Don't have Room 6 or Room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jan59Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy P, General Manager at Cape Cadogan, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write the above review. It is of course disappointing for me to read the above comments, as it certainly doesn't show up the hotel to the normal standards we are used to achieving. Any complaint is dealt with on an individual basis and I can assure you I take your comments with the utmost seriousness.

I have personally work shopped all your comments and the appropriate measures are being taking concerning comments that you posted, such as the cleaning of tables with chemicals during breakfast service, and for the chipped basin you had in Room 2. For these I truly apologise.

There are a few of the points noted in the review however, that are not wholly accurate. For example Room 2 is in excess of 10m2 larger than Room 6 and not smaller and the lady who you asked to move rooms did accommodate your request as after you had discussed this with her in the morning she immediately contacted the manager on duty to authorise the room move . I think also important to mention that the walls are most definitely not paper thin, the walls are of a heavy brick construction and well built as part of the original build in the early 1800s.

I am sorry that you didn't get the chance to try out some of Cape Town's best restaurants located in the Kloof Street vicinity. The whole area, albeit not at the water, is very authentically Cape Town, and the majority of our guests really enjoy the area and the buzz that it has.

Once again thank you for your comments

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    118
    20
    12
    1
See reviews for
53
511
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diegan in Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

The reception area ladies who answered all two-hundred of my questions in the short 24-hours I was a resident at the Cape Cadogan ought to receive a prize. They sorted (among other requests) dinner, manicure/pedicure, safe jogging route, SIM card for my phone, lunch, and laundry (at last minute notice).

Everything was clean and the property was safe and easy to access. Plenty of parking!

I recommend the omelette for breakfast along with the fresh guava juice... :)

Room Tip: Room 5 was a little too close to the entrance for my taste...though it did have a double door and I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I loved our stay in the Cape Cadogan. We were made extremely welcome by all the staff in the hotel who went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our stay and who took a personal interest in recommending local activities, restaurants or tours. Comfortable, large room with our own balcony and a view of Table Mountain. Superb breakfasts. A lovely surprise was an unexpected champagne breakfast laid on in the courtyard for my wife's birthday. We would definitely return there should we ever visit Cape Town again and our four days there provided a great start to our holiday in the Western Cape.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Love this place.
The staff, accommodations, the space. Everything was perfect. I looked forward to a tasty treat every night before bed. Perfect location. Comfortable bed. Breakfast was great.
Cape Cadogan is unassuming on the outside but perfectly updated on the inside. felt like i was vacationing at a rich friend's house. Everyone was warm and helpful! Thanks a million times over to Wisdom (yep, that's his name) for accommodating my every request. You spoiled me!

Room Tip: No need to try for a perfect room, i think they are all similar! Gorgeous decor. Love this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Name-me1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Though I travel often I rarely take the time to review them online, but the character and warmth of this hotel prompts me to give it my highest recommendation. All of the things I seek in a hotel are present: location, sense of place, tasteful design, spacious rooms, welcoming atmosphere, prompt can-do service, good internet, thoughtful touches and spot on local recommendations. We stayed our first night at the Mount Nelson around the corner, which was lovely for a chain hotel, but I can truly say that had we not switched to Cape Cadogan our entire visit to Cape Town would have been much less enjoyable. For us it was an upgrade in almost all respects and cost about one third less.

As with any historic property, there are some minor compromises on functionality in the rooms (e.g. placement of electrical outlets), but I was very impressed that the main things (climate control, bathrooms, sound, lighting) were done well, which is no small feat in an old building . If a hard to reach electrical outlet is the price to be paid for the level of charm Cadogan delivers, it is well worth it.

In addition to creating a great place, the owners and management have done a fine job of staffing. Amber, Wisdom and all of the staff were lovely. I own several high end boutique hotels and know how difficult this is, so hats off to all.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a group, ask about their adjoining serviced apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElBocatoreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

My wife and I booked 4 nights at More Quarters for our first experience of Cape Town. We had originally wanted to stay at Cape Cadogan but in the end were very happy with More Quarters. Having our own very spacious apartment but with all the facilities of an excellent hotel at hand, either within More Quarters itself or at Cape Cadogan which really is a stone's throw away (the next door street) was just great. The staff were extremely helpful and made us feel at ease from the moment we arrived. The apartment was clean , modern and fresh with predominantly white and neutral colours which we both like (no fustiness here). The high point was probably the excellent breakfast in the spacious and beautiful breakfast room with large windows all around letting the sun stream in. Great service and just a nice feel about the place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Supeb Hotel in great location near to Kloof Street.
Very helpful friendly staff who cant do enough for you, excellent large room and we had our own little private courtyard to sit in and enjoy a drink or two in. Fabulous breakfast choices and with the option to sit outside in the sun.
On one night they provided us with an excellent picnic basket and blanket when we went to Kirstenbosch gardens.
There is also a nice sitting room with an honesty bar for a relaxing drink with nibbles too.
In the afternoon there is a pitcher of a nice cool drink and cakes to enjoy too, a very nice touch. But there again the staff do think about the small touches that make a difference.
Will definately stay there again if we visit Cape Town in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Cadogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cadogan

Property: Cape Cadogan
Address: 5 Upper Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Cadogan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a rare combination of historic exteriors with classic modern bohemian interiors, it was ‘Victorianised’ in 1912 and declared a National Monument in 1984. Its charm and character is matched with its desirable location amongst the popular restaurants, street cafes and stylish boutique shops of Kloof Street, the heart of Cape Town. More Cape Cadogan is owned and managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, South African Hotels, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Cadogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cape Cadogan Hotel Cape Town Central
The Cape Town Cadogan
The Hotel Cape Town
Cape Cadogan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing