We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Boutique Hotel and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cape Cadogan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Cadogan
Ranked #12 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Boutique Hotel and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent a few days at this hotel during our trip to Capetown and had rooms at both More Quarters and Cape Cadogan. The rooms at Cape Cadogan were very cozy and nicely decorated, and the apartment suite in More Quarters was excellent. I had a problem with missing baggage from my flight and the receptionist team was so helpful. They even suggested I provide them with the information so they could continue to call the airline while we were out. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a great stay in Capetown. The only downside is no large pool area if you are looking for some pool time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSH165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    118
    20
    12
    1
See reviews for
53
511
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We started our trip to South Africa with two nights at Cape Cadogan in Capetown and had a lovely stay. The hotel is in an beautiful old house that reminded us of the historic home where we stayed in New Orleans. The staff was very welcoming and did an excellent job. Our room was nice, particularly the bathroom, which was large and had a great walk-in shower. The only damper on our stay was that we had some maintenance issues in our room (very loud and messy AC), which we were too exhausted to mention to the front desk in time for them to be fixed before we left. The breakfast was delicious and included hot breakfast to order in addition to a great selection of fresh fruit, yogurt, cheeses, and baked goods. They also put out liquors and other ingredients for cocktails in the evening, which makes you feel like you are in your own living room.

We thought the location was perfect for exploring Capetown, because it is half way between the Waterfront and Camps Bay, so it is a short cab ride to shopping, restaurants, beach, and other attractions. I agree with other reviewers that there is not a great deal to do within walking distance, but Capetown did not seem like much of a walking city, and the taxis to the Waterfront, Camps Bay, etc. were not terribly expensive. I wouldn't stay there if you know you want to be within walking distance of the beach and all of the Camps Bay nightlife, but it is a good home base for generally exploring Capetown.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlyjoeNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I just returned from Cape Cadogan-- we stayed from December 28-January 3rd. We arrived from Franschoek (we were there from Dec 22-28-- review to follow as well). We were booked for 3 classes of rooms because it was high season, so the management advised us we had to move rooms or we could stay in one room the whole time but pay the higher rates-- which were significantly higher-- more on that later.
The first room we stayed in was a standard room -- mgmt told us it was comparable to the luxury room we were booked in for the next 3 nights-- i don't agree with that. The room is basic-- big bed that takes up most of the room-- there is a tiny flat screen tv and dvd player (they don't have dvd's but will lend you their 'account' so you can go rent if you want at the local store-- we didn't do that) the room opens out onto a charming little balcony that overlooks the street and the front of the hotel. The balcony is private, and didn't appear to have anyone overlooking us from different buildings etc-- so that was a plus-- . The negatives, there is a very loud bar next door called Van Hunks --(the clientele were not representative of the name) - and it did get loud that first night we were there-- but we were only in that room for one night- so I can't say if it was a nightly occurrence- but that was annoying.
My biggest complaint about that room is the bathroom (which has a decent tub and ok shower) it doesnt have real doors-- it has wooden swinging louvered shutter type doors-- note the bed is right next to the bathroom-- and the toilet is right next to the doors in the bathroom....unfortunately my side of the bed was practically in the bathroom-- and even more unfortunate was my husband had the south african version of montezuma's revenge-- all i can say (besides apologizing for TMI) that was NOT pleasant for either of us :)!!!!! -- we could deal with it for one night but thankfully we moved to the 'luxury room' the next day. The luxury room was nicer by far (mgmt said it was comparable to the standard room-- but when dealing with the bathroom issue it was far superior). The room looks out onto the courtyard/plunge pool/breakfast area--- it has it's own private courtyard in the interior -- and the bathroom is huge with a giant soaking tub and open stand alone shower. and there is plenty of space and privacy between the bathroom and bedroom (much happier in that room!) The room itself wasn't much bigger than the standard room-- and the tv etc was still tiny if you care about that -- but we were so much happier in that room - we ended up staying in it for the duration of our trip. The downside- the room is attached to the next room and sometimes you can hear the people in the next room coughing , talking etc- we thought that would be a problem- but it really was not. The reasons I wouldn't stay at the hotel again is that although it is nice, for over 400 usd a night I really expected more (we stayed at Quartier Francais in Franshoek for little more than that for an OUT OF THE WORLD time). The breakfast at Cadogan consisted of fresh fruit and yogurts and cereals and coffee/tea etc-- that was all fine-(if they keep the flies off the fruit etc-- that was a little gross sometimes). Since we were there for several days i tried most of the choices on the hot breakfast menu---- it was not very good - -- there is a choice of various egg preparations ( the scrambled eggs were terrible--more like tiny dry egg crumbles-- how could one mess that up?-- and the poached eggs were great one day, but miserable 2 other times) . The pancakes were actually crepes (and not very good- my husband had one bite and went back to the fruit platter). The smoked salmon/cream cheese was made as a strange toasted sandwich and the watercress was just thrown on the side (not cut up or anything) -- the eggs florentine-- were awful- the spinach was slimy and it had no taste at all. The one thing my husband did enjoy was the omelette (egg white). I don't know what to say-- i had breakfast every day and the last 2 days my husband didn't even order the hot breakfast-- i think that at the price they charge, knowing how to make a basic breakfast is a must, especially since they have just a few options it should not be that difficult. Other than that-- there was mild noise from early breakfasters we could hear in the room but that didn't bother us that much as most of the time people ate inside bc it was very windy when we were there.
In sum-- it's a cute hotel-- the staff is nice--the location is so-so-- it's just not worth the price.
FYI-- one highlight is the thai restaurant down the street called Yindi's (i think) which was surprisingly authentic (we have been to thailand many times) and it was very VERY good -- we ate there 3 times.
Note- Also avoid the last part of Long street-- no one told us it was rather sketchy--( it was suggested that we check it out) -- parts of it were fine --if a little seedy (think of roaming around Bourbon street the morning after a weekend night etc) but toward the end-- lots of closed/out of business shops/restaurants---and a lot of people having (loud) conversations with their unseen friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ts_anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We started our trip to South Africa in Capetown and were so warmly welcomed at Cape Codogan/More Quarters. Originally we were booked into Cape Codogan and were instead given a small suite in More Quarters - it was a lovely room.

The breakfast each morning was delicious with a wide variety to choose from.

The staff were outstanding. After breakfast on the first day one of the staff sat down with us and went over where things were on a map. We also took one of their picnic baskets on our whale watching trip and it was fantastic. She also made a number of restaurant recommendations - we ate at 3 of the recommended restaurants and each was wonderful.

Each morning the staff inquired about our plans or the day and as we were two ladies traveling alone it was nice to know that someone knew where we were each day.

The hotel is very conveniently located and would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Capetown.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We really enjoyed the stay although we felt the location was not that great. Staff very friiendly though. Good breakfast and good value - would recommend but must have your own car as not many places close by to walk to. The advice we received from staff on where to go was very good with excellent recommendations

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fwilson65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

What a fantastic hotel and staff. Courteous, quick to help -- they made our trip very, very memorable and special. Champagne for the birthday, and they even let us stick around a little longer as we had some time to kill before heading to the airport. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paget Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Cape Cadogan which was part of our honeymoon in South Africa. The staff were very friendly and we were upgraded to a luxury room! We felt very safe at this location which is located in the city and not far from Table Mountain. The breakfasts were delicious and in addition to the fruit, cheese and cereal buffet you also ordered eggs, pancakes, omelets etc... During the evenings there were complimentary appetizers and port/ sherry. We also had treats delivered to our room in the evenings. A lovely property to stay in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Cadogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cadogan

Property: Cape Cadogan
Address: 5 Upper Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Cadogan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a rare combination of historic exteriors with classic modern bohemian interiors, it was ‘Victorianised’ in 1912 and declared a National Monument in 1984. Its charm and character is matched with its desirable location amongst the popular restaurants, street cafes and stylish boutique shops of Kloof Street, the heart of Cape Town. More Cape Cadogan is owned and managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, South African Hotels, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Cadogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cape Cadogan Hotel Cape Town Central
The Cape Town Cadogan
The Hotel Cape Town
Cape Cadogan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing