We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super service”
Review of Cape Cadogan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Cadogan
Ranked #13 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The pre-trip prep started out with a LOT of helpful advice/arrangements from manager Andy. He was away during our stay but backed up by equally excellent advice from Kevita and Daen on-site.
This is a very small, boutique hotel that looks and feels like a large home complete with post dinner sherry in the sitting room.
If you are looking for a Hilton, the Cape Cadogan, isn't it. This is classic Georgian style home with thoroughly modern AC, bathrooms, bedding, etc. right off a main restaurant drag though quite a (daytime) walk from Victoria Wharf and not an area in which you would go for a run.
If we were to do it again, we'd definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bzzbzzbzz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (733)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 733 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

A true oasis in the city of Cape Town! While in Cape Town for the first leg our honeymoon, my husband and I stayed at The Cape Cadogan. We stayed in the owner's villa - very spacious and nicely decorated, with our own outdoor area and plunge pool! We felt very special. We particularly enjoyed the special touches of flower petals and champagne on our first night. The Cape Cadogan is the place to call home while in Cape Town - highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 972Rupert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We couldn't fault Cape Cadogan. The service was impeccable (we were upgraded to an apartment and greeted with rose petals and champagne) and the staff really went the extra mile. 5* in every way, the rooms are just beautiful and the ambience is charming - plus the breakfast is fabulous!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katieleigh84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed at the Cape Cadogan for 4 night in mid-August. Hotel is located in a less touristy part of town but easily accesible to all the sites. Five minute drive to Table Mountain, 15 minute walk to museums and 10 minute taxi to the waterfront. Room are spacious, bathroom are huge, ample street parking and the included breakfast was great. Above all, one of the friendliest and most accommodating hotel staffs I've ever experienced. There's no reason to spend money on a tourist hotel at the waterfront with what this hotel offers.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

More Quarters which are the apartment adjacent to Cape Cadogan were extremely comfortable. The apartment was bright, airy, modern & we had a private courtyard. The bathroom was perfect with a soaking tub that overlooked the courtyard. Very serene. The apartment was literally a brick pathway across from the main house of Cape Cadogan. The breakfast served each morning was amazing & the staff incredibly helpful. I loved this location because I am not keen on touristy spots & this was removed from the waterfront, but very close to incredible dining. We loved Cafe Paradiso & Societi Bistro, both a few blocks away.

Room Tip: The More Quarter apartments adjacent to the mail lodge were perfect. It gave us more room than we ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blythe43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at the Cape Cadogan for three nights in late August. The rooms are light and airy and the common areas are comfortable and well appointed. We appreciated the fires set in the common rooms - it made catching up online a cozy affair, especially when you add a cup of hot chocolate. Breakfast was well done and in a charming dining room. It was chilly when we visited, and the hot water bottles in bed each night were much appreciated. The entire staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I recently stayed at Cape Cadogan for 5 nights while in Cape Town (mid-August 2012). Aside from the fact that the rooms are beautiful (I stayed in 3 different rooms there), the staff is amazingly helpful and the food served for breakfast is incredible! The croissants are just unreal! Add to all of that, it's great location and convenient little parking and honestly, I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csprague0413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#4 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,460 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,843 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#6 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,129 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,646 reviews
City Bowl
More Quarters Hotel
More Quarters Hotel
#12 of 112 in Cape Town Central
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Cadogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cadogan

Address: 5 Upper Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $254 - $508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Cadogan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a rare combination of historic exteriors with classic modern bohemian interiors, it was ‘Victorianised’ in 1912 and declared a National Monument in 1984. Its charm and character is matched with its desirable location amongst the popular restaurants, street cafes and stylish boutique shops of Kloof Street, the heart of Cape Town. More Cape Cadogan is owned and managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Prestigia, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Cape Cadogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cape Cadogan Hotel Cape Town Central
The Cape Town Cadogan
The Hotel Cape Town
Cape Cadogan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing