We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (766)
Filter reviews
766 results
Traveler rating
604
127
21
13
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
604
127
21
13
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskloof streetour honeymoontable mountainprivate courtyardhot water bottlesdouble showerplunge poolgreat boutiquethis small boutique hotelluxury roombreakfast room iswithin walking distancefirst stopthree nightssouth africalovely roomeach evening
Filter
Updating list...
457 - 462 of 766 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in March after reading the excellent reviews. We were not disappointed as
the 5 night reservation was as expected. The rooms were very well prepared and breakfast was ample served in a small dining room/garden courtyard. The bathroom are a good size which include all the toiletries you would require.
The reception staff were most kind in suggesting places to visit and if necessary booking a tour or arranging the complementary shuttle to the V & A Waterfront.

The hotel is only 10 minutes walk from the famous Mount Nelson Hotel ( Dinner one night/ two courses inc bottle of wine - £46 for two people! ) There is also a small intimate restaurant called "Green Thumb " - seven minutes walk off Kloof Street. It mainly specialises in fish dishes which were excellent. Prices are modest.

The Cape Cadogan is highly recommended.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room in the main hotel building for 2 people.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

My wife and I had the holiday of a lifetime and the four nights we spent at the Cape Cadogan were fantastic. I was impressed with the genuine kindness of the staff. They were helpful and gave us all kinds of tips. We must have packed two weeks of activities into four days and it would not have been possible without their assistance. This boutique hotel experience was new to me and I found it quite personable. The rooms were lovely, well appointed and well attended by staff. The inclusive breakfasts were fantastic. We were really made to feel welcome and it was certainly appreciated. I would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Well located in the Garden District just north of the city Center, the Cape Cadogan is an elegant litle boutique hotel. If offers attentive service, comfortable rooms and a good breakfast. The prices are reasonable - especially considering that they include free breakfast and internet service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moonriser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Lovely hotel but ask to not be in a small room. Beautifully appointed with a cozy fire in the front room for leisurely visiting or reading. Wonderful breakfast options. We recommend highly.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank J D C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Our South Africa trip began with a four night stay at Cape Cadogan, and we could not have asked for a more warming welcome than the one we received from the charming hotel's staff. From warm touches like complementary pre-dinner port and canapes to more modern amenities like free wi-fi, the Cadogan provided an excellent balance of charm and convenience. Kinita and the rest of the team were terrifically accommodating with suggestions and reservations.

Its location is well-situated away from the city center bustle, but in an area in walking distance (daytime only, people!) from Long Street and the surrounding neighborhoods, providing a good mix of accessibility and escapism.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teschbacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews