We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food in Sea Point”

PEARL AND PLOY THAI FUSION RESTAURANT
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Pearl and Ploy is a thai restaurant that caters for the most descerning pallates. Named after the son and two daughter's of head chef, also owner well known for her infectious warm, friendly and inviting personality brought the best part of Thailand to Cape Town. Exquisite food & wine, unique decor and cleanliness combined with friendly staff makes the entire Pearl and Ploy dining experience a memorable occasion.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food in Sea Point”
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Reviews seemed suspiciously over positive. Nobody was in the restaurant on arrival. We nervously ordered from the very Thai hostess. Her warm hospitality soon won us over and the food that arrived was simply delicious beyond description. I orders a second plate of main course; it was that tasty. The owner's story is heart warming. Ask her about the name of the restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Digitalethiopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichittra H, Owner at PEARL AND PLOY THAI FUSION RESTAURANT, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guests
Thank you for your kind review.
It show's us that we are on the right way.
We try our best to keep that level.
Hope to see you soon again.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    14
    2
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Very good, recommendable!”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Very good, authethic thai cuisine, fast service and very friendly staff! Really enjoyed our dinner there as it was also a good change to the restaurants at the waterfront. Sole minus point would be that we were the only guests, however, probably due to the late hour...and despite this fact, the owner and personnel did not make us hurry up.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichittra H, Owner at PEARL AND PLOY THAI FUSION RESTAURANT, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Guests
Thank you for your visit and the kind review.
It helps that next time you are hopefully not the only guests.
We hope to see you soon again.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
“Very good”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Followed the advise on tripadvisor and landed in this place on a quiet night; good Thai food and nice people who went the extra mile to make us feel at home.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mm v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichittra H, Owner at PEARL AND PLOY THAI FUSION RESTAURANT, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your visit and the kind review.
We hope to see you soon again.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Authentic Thai cuisine, made with passion and a love for cooking.”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I have had the privilege to eat at this restaurant on a few occassions and always came away feeling that I have had value for money. These days it is quite easy to find "Thai restaurants" around Cape Town. The problem is that there is nothing authentic about the food in these restaurants and I have always come away feeling a bit ripped off. Pearl and Ploy is different and as authentic as can be. A few years ago I travelled to Thailand and had some amazing food there. This restaurant in the middle of Sea Point reminds me of the smells and sounds of busy Thailand. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thatshiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichittra H, Owner at PEARL AND PLOY THAI FUSION RESTAURANT, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your visits and the positiv review.
It encourages us to keep and hopefully improve the standard.
We hope to see you soon again.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Thai Restaurant in Seapoint Cape Town”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is one of the best Thai food I have eaten, we had the Satay and I had the Shrimp Stir Fry, my husband had the Panaeng Curry with Ostrich, it was very tender and lean meat in a wonderful curry sauce. The owner is very nice and aiming to please, everything was really good. If you want authentic Thai Food in Cape Town this is the place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bbachmayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichittra H, Owner at PEARL AND PLOY THAI FUSION RESTAURANT, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your visit and the positiv review.
It makes us happy that you enjoyed our cuisine.
We hope to see you soon again.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PEARL AND PLOY THAI FUSION RESTAURANT also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing