We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice relaxing address in Cape Town”
Review of Cape Standard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Standard
Ranked #15 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

For the third time, I had a few very nice days in guest house Cape Standard. And I'm sure I will come back to enjoy it again! Very nice people, flexible, always prepared to help, and make you feel at home! Nice light modern styled rooms with, of course, a nice African touch. Tasteful decorated with beautiful African art, beautiful photo's and paintings. A lovely nice small garden, where there's always room for a nice breakfast or just a relaxed moment with a cup of coffee or thee.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (601)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 601 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed for two nights last week. Felt calming, relaxing and at home as soon as I entered. Lively room with everything I needed. Loved the doc for my iPad! Helped myself to a sherry in the stylish lounge area. Very courteous staff, who were very helpful! Highly recommended. Easy walk to Waterfront as well.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for the start of our honeymooon, and we couldn't have chosen a better place. It's comfortable, elegantly beautiful, the breakfast is excellent, and the staff helped us with everything from dinner reservations to car rental to planning and booking significant pieces of the rest of our trip. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilcolper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Cape Standard in May 2012 and it was fantastic. The staff are extremely friendly & helpful, the rooms are spacious & modern, and the ambiance is warm & inviting.

Rooms: We had a great corner room with a large shower, comfortable bed, large windows w/natural light, and iPod dock.

Food: Each morning the staff will cook you eggs, meat, & toast to order, along with coffee or tea, and a great little buffet of fresh fruit, bread, and yogurt. Definitely a great way to start the day!

Common space: There is a great pool (too cold out for us to use), a living room-type area with a nice fireplace, couches & chairs. It's a small hotel so there were not a ton of people and we had the place to ourselves because we woke early.

Activities: The best day in Cape Town was a private wine tour of Stellenbosch and Franschoek. This was recommended by the front desk & they arranged everything. They also planned out a drive for us to Cape Point.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryknighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Cape Standard. The hotel is located in a safe and convenient location, it takes about 15-20 mins to walk down to the V &A and before dark it's perfectly safe to do so. A taxi back to the hotel from the v and a costs about 30-40 rand. Breakfasts were fantastic with a typical buffet of cereal, pastries coffee ect as well as the option of a yummy cooked breakfast! All the staff are extremely helpful and service is excellent. Can not recommend enough!! 

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackieb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

A very nice and charming guesthouse with few rooms that makes it quiet and enjoyable to stay and feel as if you were home. Also very well located it is a highly recommended hotel if you get to go to Cape Town.
I also wanted to mention the lovely Margot that told us what to do at any time and made up our trip 5 days ahead from Cape Town to Port Elisabeth telling us were to stay and activities to do. We did really appreciate her generosity, thank you!! And also David's sympathy!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianMila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Where to start? Chic, beautiful, Calm... perfection! The rooms are spacious very clean and beautiful! Well decorated, modern and pure!
The proximity to the Waterfront makes it a perfect location to visit Cape Town.
The staff is Amazing! So friendly and helpful and so professional! They make you feel like familly.
Margot was great! So helpful with everything, she was always available and a wonderful planner! arringing all our bookings and figuring out the impossible for us! even took care of a problem with my rental car so that it wouldn't affect our schedule! just plain amazing!!!
We truly loved it!!!!!
Thanks so much for everything!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,440 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,879 reviews
Villa Costa Rose
#13 of 156 in Cape Town Central
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,042 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
651 reviews
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
#6 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Standard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Standard

Address: 3 Romney Road | Greenpoint, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $91 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Standard 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cape Standard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Standard Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing