We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and advises”
Review of Cape Standard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Standard
Ranked #14 of 155 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great service and advises”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

A very nice and charming guesthouse with few rooms that makes it quiet and enjoyable to stay and feel as if you were home. Also very well located it is a highly recommended hotel if you get to go to Cape Town.
I also wanted to mention the lovely Margot that told us what to do at any time and made up our trip 5 days ahead from Cape Town to Port Elisabeth telling us were to stay and activities to do. We did really appreciate her generosity, thank you!! And also David's sympathy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianMila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    132
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
69
320
54
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woburn, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Where to start? Chic, beautiful, Calm... perfection! The rooms are spacious very clean and beautiful! Well decorated, modern and pure!
The proximity to the Waterfront makes it a perfect location to visit Cape Town.
The staff is Amazing! So friendly and helpful and so professional! They make you feel like familly.
Margot was great! So helpful with everything, she was always available and a wonderful planner! arringing all our bookings and figuring out the impossible for us! even took care of a problem with my rental car so that it wouldn't affect our schedule! just plain amazing!!!
We truly loved it!!!!!
Thanks so much for everything!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My sister, Jennifer and my brother-in-law, Bob............and I had such a wonderful visit to Cape Standard abode!! David and Margot........and their team couldn't have been more personable, helpful........and delightful!! They called for taxis, reservations to wonderful meals..........and gave us suggestions every step of the way!! We had everything at our fingertips!! I would rate Cape Standard an excellent bed and breakfast property..........and the decor is particularly restful with lots of "pizzazz"!! When we came "home" to Cape Standard in the early evening.......there was sherry and nuts and crackers to greet us........not to mention newspapers to help us all connect to the world!! It was the end of a perfect adventure for all of us!

Linda Edgar
Santa Barbara, California

Room Tip: I loved Room 4!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Cape Standard - and we are fussy about our accommodations! It's a lovely place, a short distance from the main part of the city, but really close to the beach. It has a great relaxed feel. David and Rudy were wonderful hosts and very helpful and gracious. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This bed and breakfast was one of the high points of our delightful visit to Cape Town. The facilities are all modern and attractive, the decor demands your attention with its artwork and other touches, but most of all, the staff are wonderful. We even chose to spend half a morning chatting by the fire with the owner, David, who shared fascinating insights about Cape Town. His manager, Margot, solved problems for us just slightly before we even understood they could be problems--making reservations, inquiring about hours, arranging transportation, and advising us on any intricacies in our plans to make them simple. Breakfast is sumptuous, and, at least in the Cape Town winter, there's often a fire in the fire place. There are also decent places to eat within walking distance, although most of the time we couldn't resist David's superb recommendations in town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert02118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahore, Pakistan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

David and Margot were exceptionally helpful before our arrival and also during our stay. The other staff were superb and exceptionally helpful. We had arrived in ZA a few days before visiting Cape Town, and Margot/David kept in touch with us over email to facilitate our pick up from the airport. It actually made me feel like I am going home. I have stayed in big and small hotels and guesthouses in Europe and Asia but the superb hospitality at the Cape Standard was exceptional - they did everything to ensure that our stay in Cape is enjoyable. The most important thing that we greatly appreciated was that they never became over-bearing. And that's a BIG plus.

The room was excellent with wifi connectivity. The only thing missing was air-conditioning. The living room, the dining area and the garden at the back were great. We enjoyed our mornings and evenings very much. The breakfast was excellent and beautifully presented every morning. There was Champagne and fresh lime water available every evening in the living room. Their help desk is excellent, you can get in touch with Margot and David any time from your room or from the reception even if they are not in the guesthouse. I highly recommend Cape Standard.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MuneezaS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder Creek, California
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The staff were exceptionally helpful, especially before we arrived in Cape Town and were in the US planning our trip. I corresponded with them by phone and e-mail several times and they were superb! They arranged for a rental car for us for our entire two week trip even though we were only staying with them two nights. They also sent us a great list of restaurants to try in the Cape Town environs. They also left a bottle of wine in our room because they knew I was celebrating my 50th birthday.

The hotel is in a nice, quiet neighborhood and is very well decorated. The breakfast is lovely as is the dining area and living room. The garden at the back looked sweet too. The room itself was a bit disappointing as it didn't really match up to the photos on the website. It was certainly fine but nothing terrific. We'd stayed at some really incredible places for much less money during our trip so this was just a bit of a let down. But the staff made up for the room itself and I'd highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the staircase. The early morning breakfast set up can get a bit noisy if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeStandard, Owner at Cape Standard, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Kathy

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the staff interaction and the exceptional service during your time spent with us. It was also very kind of you to leave a thank you card at the end of your stay. I’m sorry that you found your room a little disappointing. Our rooms are all individually decorated and we appreciate that the very specific style of the Cape Standard may not always be to everyone’s taste - we do believe that our website gives a very good indication of both style and content. We really hope that, should you choose to stay with us again at some point in the future, we could offer you an alternate room option. We do extensive research into our pricing structure and are very confident that we offer extremely good comparative value for this standard of accommodation in Cape Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,833 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dysart Boutique Hotel
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
416 reviews
0.0 mi away
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Sp...
#20 of 109 in Cape Town Central
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,026 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Backpackers in Green Point
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 128 in Cape Town Central
493 reviews
0.8 mi away
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Standard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Standard

Property: Cape Standard
Address: 3 Romney Road | Greenpoint, Cape Town Central, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Standard 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Cape Standard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Standard Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing