We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you dont go for the steam punk go for the food”
Review of Truth Coffee HQ

Truth Coffee HQ
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $12
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Truth Coffee is first and foremost a coffee roastery. We pride ourselves on artisan coffee. Secondly it is a steampunk cafe, named by MSN Travel UK's Tom Midlane, the best coffee shop in the world" and the Guardian Newspaper said, "Probably the coolest cafe in the World" At night, TRUTH. After Dark comes alive - setting the stage for late-night dessert dining with a hint of the theatrical, directed by our Paris-born, Michelin star-forged master pastry chef: “I’m bringing an experience to the plate. It’s going to be intriguing.” — Kamal Hamzaoui. Join us Tuesdays to Saturdays between 6 pm and midnight for a selection of exquisite, luxury desserts—the perfect compliment to our world-famous coffee, and a toast to your impeccable taste for the best that Cape Town has to offer when the lights go dim.
Reviewed March 28, 2015

If you are at all familiar with steam-punk then you should totally go to this coffee house. The whole place, staff and all are done out in steam-punk in the most amazing way. Even if you don't want food or coffee its worth it just to walk by. How ever the food and drink are also great. I had a flat bread and hot chocolate and both were great tasting. I would recommend breakfast but as long as you go you'll be making a good choice.

Date of visit: March 2015
4  Thank TripleTExplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

875 - 879 of 1,129 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2015

Every little thing there is magical and perfect. The coffee, design, food and service. It's one of my special spots in Cape Town. Nothing makes my day taste better than a cup of TRUTH.

Date of visit: March 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank FreddyTheFish2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2015 via mobile

Very simple review- amazing!! The most fun you can have in Cape Town. They will show you the truth of how coffee should be served and enjoyed!

4  Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2015

When we arrived it was pretty busy and bustling, but we were acknowledged immediately and the hostess made an effort to organise us a table in the front of the restaurant (her recommendation). We were served promptly and were all very impressed by the quality and flavour of the coffee - after a few sips we had all ordered our 2nd cup! The atmosphere is very unique and interesting - a Steampunk vibe with antique brass/copper equipment located throughout the restaurant, and the waitrons dressed according to the theme. The eggs benedict was presented on wooden boards and tasted delicious, the Hollandaise sauce was perfectly done! My husband's French toast croissants, served with Mascarpone and syrup were out of this world! We will definitely be back. I can't think of anything I disliked about the experience :) We will be back!

Date of visit: March 2015
3  Thank KimmyDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2015

Fun staff, good food, nice music selection, free wifi, really cool steampunk decor. It's a great place to hang out, have a coffee and a nosh.

Date of visit: March 2015
4  Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Truth Coffee HQ also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Truth Coffee HQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing