We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Parada Bree Street

La Parada Bree Street
Ranked #96 of 1,135 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cape Town
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

I guess I am too old but in the evening this place is just very noisy and the food was very average, sounded good was rather disappointing. Good service coping well with the crowds.
Back on a Sunday afternoon I enjoyed it better - less crowded and some good life music.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bettina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    136
    48
    26
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good tapas, good drinks, cool place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Great vibrant atmosphere in this place, the range of tapas was smaller than some places but we all enjoyed everything we ate. I tried the fillet steak in fruit sauce which was delicious; the rest of my family grazed on multiple dishes. drinks were good and the barman did a mean cocktail! Service was slow for a while (we think they lost our order), but once we threw our toys out of the pram they seemed to pull themselves together and everything came promptly.

All in all a good tapas place; also useful as it's open on Sunday evenings for food until 9pm.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank stayathomedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
118 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Super tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

The decor makes La Parada feel authentic and the food supports that feeling. We shared the prawns (perfectly cooked), calamari with salsa verde (divine), serrano ham (beautifully sliced), paprika dusted yellowtail (amazing) and the orange and olive salad (sublime - and unusual) The staff are friendly and the service is good. It's easy to spend a few hours chatting and eating - a good way to spend an afternoon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay_CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Poor. Service, mediocre food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We decided to eat here for our final night in Cape Town and unfortunately were very disappointed. The food is mediocre, which I could probably have coped with had the service been up to scratch, which I find difficult to understand why on a not-very-busy Monday night. Several options from the menu not available either.
The atmosphere is good, but I fear there is a case of style over substance here. Such a shame after some wonderful meals during our stay in Cape Town.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
147 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Sunday afternoon lazy ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

It started out quiet on a sunday afternoon but the crowd grew. Spanish wines out of stock after busy weekend. Tapas was great, atmosphere upbeat, great place to catch up with friends and have some fun and tasty food. Would definitely revisit when next in CT. Think friday or saturday night would be the bomb !

Helpful?
Thank BDBSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Parada Bree Street also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to La Parada Bree Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing