We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super tapas”

La Parada Bree Street
Ranked #94 of 1,144 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
118 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Super tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

The decor makes La Parada feel authentic and the food supports that feeling. We shared the prawns (perfectly cooked), calamari with salsa verde (divine), serrano ham (beautifully sliced), paprika dusted yellowtail (amazing) and the orange and olive salad (sublime - and unusual) The staff are friendly and the service is good. It's easy to spend a few hours chatting and eating - a good way to spend an afternoon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay_CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    139
    51
    27
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Poor. Service, mediocre food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We decided to eat here for our final night in Cape Town and unfortunately were very disappointed. The food is mediocre, which I could probably have coped with had the service been up to scratch, which I find difficult to understand why on a not-very-busy Monday night. Several options from the menu not available either.
The atmosphere is good, but I fear there is a case of style over substance here. Such a shame after some wonderful meals during our stay in Cape Town.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
147 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Sunday afternoon lazy ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

It started out quiet on a sunday afternoon but the crowd grew. Spanish wines out of stock after busy weekend. Tapas was great, atmosphere upbeat, great place to catch up with friends and have some fun and tasty food. Would definitely revisit when next in CT. Think friday or saturday night would be the bomb !

Helpful?
Thank BDBSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place, not special”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Very nice, but far from perfect.

We had nice wine and fine food in a cosy setting for a great price. Service was a bit lacking sometimes and it was a tad cold. Overall it delivers what it promises.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travelerbartda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The only real Tapas Restaurant in Cape Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

There is a big number of so called Tapas Restaurants in Cape Town. So far La Parada is the only one where I have found authentic spanish Tapas. Look, Taste and Style. The pricing is reasonable and the service good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Juergen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Parada Bree Street also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to La Parada Bree Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing