We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Bayview Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bayview Guesthouse
Ranked #80 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Bayview. We stayed in the apartment which was gorgeous, clean, modern and stylish. The breakfast in the main house was the highlight of each day. As another reviewer mentioned - you must try the scrambled eggs and bacon made by Lulu - best I've ever had. The staff were lovely. Kind, helpful and friendly. I will definitely return the next time I visit Cape Town.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 49 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at the beginning of April. Although many taxi drivers don't know the address, the guest house is a pleasant stroll to the main restaurant area of Cape Town (a steep return, however!)
The guest house comprises 2 neighbouring properties, most with amazing views of Table Mountain, the city centre and the Bay. The views from our terrace at night were spectacular.The communal areas are light, contemporary and packed full of sculptures and carvings and thoughtful extras like an "honesty bar" added to our comfort.
Christine was very helpful with advice on what to do and where to go and her safari recommendation turned out to be the highlight of our holiday.
The breakfasts were healthy and enormous and the staff lovely. All in all a very pleasant, comfortable stay and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: The largest off the three rooms in the main house had a big terrace overlooking Table Mountain and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Lovely location, but staff blunt and with poor people skills. It appears one is doing them a favour by staying there.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sugarman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Bayview is a stylish B&B with fantastic views of Table Mountain and the City. We returned to this guest house because we loved it so much the first time. The breakfasts are great - don't miss the scrambled egg with bacon - and beautifully laid out. Christine has chosen all the art objects around the house with great care creating a beautiful, but also comfortable environment. There is a small pool but only a small deck for loungers, but the terraces are fabulous with some of the best views in all of Cape Town. It is also very conveniently situated. Its quick to get into the centre of the city or to the Waterfront but you can also go equally quickly to Camps Bay and to Table Mountain or Signal Hill. It's very quiet and all the staff are very friendly and helpful, not least the owner, Christine. We hope to go back there again.

Room Tip: Room One has a great terrace and the loo has the best view in town!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S0crates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

This is the perfect location for discovering Cape Town! 10min wherever you want to go: Table Mountain, City, Waterfront, Signal Hill! Christine knows the city very well and can give excellent recommendations for whatever you want! the rooms are clean, quiet, and the breakfast just wonderful! 1A!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaGra70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Imagine falling asleep to the lights of Cape Town and waking up to the beauty of the Table Mountain... not to forget the most gorgeous sunrise and wonderful Swiss breakfast.

We finished our 6 weeks holidays in Africa with a stay in this lovely B&B - very clean, modern and sophisticated-relaxed place.

Our host Christine & team made us immediately feel welcome and had great suggestions - from where to go for dinner and where to buy the wonderful linen on the beds!

It was not easy to depart and we hope to visit again next time!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2006

We stayed at this lovely four star B&B for three nights in Sept./06 and were very pleased with our experience. Our host Christine met us and quickly got us settled in. The home is only about 20 years old and has been completely remodeled. The upstairs room have lovely views but in reality one doesn't spend much time in your room. Everything is immaculately clean and excellent quality linen, pillows and beds guarantee a good sleep. On the main floor is a very large common area with books, TV and all sorts of wine and liquors on an honor bar basis. Full size windows guarantee a bright atmosphere and if the weather is warm there is a small pool just outside in the courtyard. The breakfast served family style is excellent with juice, coffee, yogurts, fruits, assorted breads and pasties plus eggs, bacon and sausage made to order. Off street parking is available, take advantage of it.

It is about a 10-15 minute walk down rather steep streets to Kloof St which has an excellent selection of restaurants. Another 10 minutes or so further down is Long Street which has a variety of bars and clubs for the younger at heart. I'd recommend taking a taxi back for safety, plus its a long slog uphill. The taxi should only cost a few dollars. Or if you decide to drive their is usually parking available on street, Just make sure to tip the "Parking Security" fellow 3-4 Rand as this is his income and he really does watch over you vehicle for you.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gsfromc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa
#29 of 110 in Cape Town Central
317 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,783 reviews
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#10 of 129 in Cape Town Central
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#44 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,355 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,047 reviews
A Sunflower Stop
#9 of 129 in Cape Town Central
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Guesthouse

Address: 12 De Hoop Avenue | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Bayview Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Guesthouse Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing