We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location n friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Ranked #92 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
“Good location n friendly staff”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Me n my wife spend 1 night and we enjoyed it very much . The staff was very friendly and so were the people that was also staying there. The rooms was neat and tidy ,the breakfast was very nice and we will go there again . We will love to spend there with the family for a whole weekend .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    91
    92
    27
    22
See reviews for
45
86
38
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Regina
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

The breakfast was really good, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and the staff was quite friendly. There was free wifi in the lobby, which was quite convenient for staying in touch with family. The hotel staff were quite helpful in booking excursions and seemed fairly knowledgeable about the area. The hotel is also conveniently located with a short walk to local restaurants and convenience stores, and a very short taxi ride to local attractions.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Recently stayed here for 4 nights prior to embarking on a cruise home to the UK. It is well positioned taking only 20 minutes to walk into downtown Cape Town. Also it is only a 5 minute walk from Stop 7 on the Hop on Hop off bus. Each morning they serve a delicious buffet breakfast with a choice of hot or cold items. Just up the road a minute away are a supermarket and a selection of bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth_Youde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manja J, Owner at Lady Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Kenneth,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about the Lady Hamilton Hotel. I am pleased to read that you had a great stay at our hotel. We try our utmost to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Don't you just love the Hop on Hop off bus, it is such a nice day out!

I trust you had a great cruise home to the UK and we would love to welcome you back to the Lady Hamilton Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Manja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

This hotel was great after a long tour we needed some nice rooms and a place to chill out and explore Cape Town.
The hotel is close to Table Mountain (an easy taxi) and you can walk into town.
there was a great tapas place at the end of the street which I'd recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovehippopotamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manja J, Owner at Lady Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Hello

we appreciate you taking the time to write a review about the Lady Hamilton Hotel. I am very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel. I agree with you that the location is just fantastic, close to Kloof Street with its nice variety of restaurants, shops etc. Also the Hop on Hop off bus stop is close by. Some evenings the Table Mountain is lit up which looks awesome.

Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
kind regards
Manja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The breakfast is not edible! The appalling parking facilities will set you back R50 per night. Don't expect much from the staff! The first room was so appalling we asked to be moved. The second was was better but don't expect a decent shower while you are there. The pool area they brag about is scattered with run down furniture. Be prepared to lug your own bags down the stairs as there is no lift and staff members are scarce! I booked through British Airways Avios and I am shocked that they check these hotels out before associating with them! So disappointed. I read several positive reviews on various sites before the trip and now I have to wonder who wrote them. I really hate being ripped off!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianneHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manja J, Owner at Lady Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Dianne,

thank you for writing your review and I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. It seems that nothing was to your satisfaction!

Just to clarify some matters that you address in your review.
1. Breakfast is prepared fresh everyday and consists of a buffet with a wide variety of items, hot and cold. I find it hard to believe that there was nothing that you could eat.
2. Off street parking is available at a nominal cost, not sure what you could find appalling about the parking area.
3. Porters are available to assist with your luggage. Just call reception and they will send the porter to your room

It appears that our hotel did not suit your needs, my apologies and I hope that in future you have better stays.

Kind regards
Manja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

Rugby
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Location of hotel is good but general upkeep of hotel is poor with door handles falling off and poor decor. It is also a bit noisy. Room cleanliness not the best as had cigarette butts on window ledge.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RugbyPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manja J, Owner at Lady Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Pete

thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Lady Hamilton Hotel. I am sorry to hear that the cleaniless was not up to standard during your stay. I agree that the cigarette butts should not have been there!

It seems that our décor was not to your liking, we try to keep it modern and minimalistic.

The location of the hotel is excellent and we offer FREE internet in our public areas to all our guests. I trust you make good use of it.

We do hope to be of assistance in the future if you ever visit Cape Town again
kind regards
Manja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2014

we have stayed there for two nights. the hotel staff is steeling things out of your locked hotel room! they are just telling you, there was no camera in the room and you are powerless.... we left the hotel directly.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Elllla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manja J, Owner at Lady Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for writing your review of the Lady Hamilton Hotel. I am very sorry to hear that you had some items gone missing. All rooms are fitted with a safety deposit box, so that the guests can keep their valuables safe.

Apart from safety deposit boxes in the room, we have 24 hour reception and security as well. Again my apologies for the alleged incident.

Kind regards
Manja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Hotel on St Georges
#72 of 109 in Cape Town Central
458 reviews
Cape Diamond Hotel
#78 of 109 in Cape Town Central
257 reviews
City Bowl
Fritz Hotel
Fritz Hotel
#71 of 109 in Cape Town Central
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Ikhaya Lodge
Ikhaya Lodge
#77 of 109 in Cape Town Central
74 reviews
Best Western Cape Suites Hotel
#81 of 109 in Cape Town Central
325 reviews
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On T...
#87 of 109 in Cape Town Central
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lady Hamilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Hamilton Hotel

Property: Lady Hamilton Hotel
Address: 10 Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lady Hamilton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lady Hamilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Hamilton Cape Town
Lady Hamilton Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing