We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free wifi and good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Ranked #99 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Free wifi and good breakfast”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We had 2 nights here at the end of a tour and we enjoyed having access to free Wi-Fi in the foyer and the breakfast buffet was good as well. The rooms are quite small and the bathrooms need a make over BUT it was clean and comfortable which is the most important thing in my opinion. We had to call a doctor while we were there and the front desk was very helpful in sorting that for us. We did not have toilet paper in our room when we arrived though and we had to ask for it twice.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so go for a ground floor room if you have lots of luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucykiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    89
    90
    27
    21
See reviews for
43
84
38
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
327 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed here for one night in January 2013. I found that the staff wasn't nearly as helpful as the majority of businesses in Cape Town. They were also slow to act on requests.

The bathrooms in the next door rooms were extremely loud. I could hear someone shave at 5:35 in the morning, it sounded more as if the person was in my own bathroom.

It is in a scenic area though and the shops and restaurants nearby definitely is a bonus.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knoesenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

fine to stay overnight, but not much else. Location pretty dead and not central, rooms small and dingy. Feels old and depressing, needs a makeover. Staff was very nice, and helpful. We had to leave before breakfast, and they were very nice about sending us with some bagged breakfasts. Surprised to see some people thought charming, thought totally lacked charm.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nycfussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Lady Hamilton for a a couple nights in Cape Town in December. While it's not very centrally located by downtown or the V&A waterfront, we were pleased to find many great restaraunts close by on Kloof (street?), a 2 minute walk from the hotel. If you do want to get to the Waterfront, it's about 60 ZAR. It's even closer to get to the base of Table Mountain.

As far as the hotel goes, they have a great staff who will set up any tours or excursions that you would like. They are extremely helpful and knowledgable about the area. There is free wifi, but it's slow and you can only get it in the lobby. There's also a very old community computer that's availble in the lobby for free. The most extraordinary feature of our stay was the great breakfast and 24 hour availabilty of cold water, tea, and coffee.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SquirrelofAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilhelmsdorf
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Every year i come back to cape town and it was all the years wonderfull to stay for some days in the lady hamilton. The most people work there since a long time and it is nice to see them again every year. Chaledon , anne and the other guys from the recetion are very friendly and its also nice to stay in the restaurant where the staff from the kitchen makes a wonderfull job.This hotel has only 3 stars but so much charme and the frienliest staff from Cape Town that this makes wonderfull to stay there.The rooms are very clean and it is nice to stay at the pool. Some rooms have a wonderfull view to the table mountain and it is easy to walk to the city center. If you have some questions or problems the staff is so helpfull every time. Im very happy to come back in 2013.

Room Tip: Some rooms with a wonderfull view to the Table Mountain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2012

The Place is old and not even a lift to the 4th Floor
I Had to carry my own Bags
The Breakfast was Poor and some Staff members were very unfriendly
The Parking was very unsafe at cost of R40 per night


Charles Petersen
0829636287

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor is quieter but not practical for elderly people
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed here as the beginning of an overland tour starting in Cape Town. I came from a fantastic backpacking hostel which I didn't want to leave. The breakfast here is excellent. The location is about 15 minutes walking from the centre. Wi fi isn't great but is included, and you can only get a signal if you are in the lobby. It is a budget hotel and a decent one at that.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren_K_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Fritz Hotel
Fritz Hotel
#73 of 109 in Cape Town Central
232 reviews
Cape Diamond Hotel
#79 of 109 in Cape Town Central
251 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#37 of 109 in Cape Town Central
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel on St Georges
#72 of 109 in Cape Town Central
454 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#49 of 109 in Cape Town Central
345 reviews
The New Tulbagh Hotel
#98 of 109 in Cape Town Central
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lady Hamilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Hamilton Hotel

Property: Lady Hamilton Hotel
Address: 10 Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lady Hamilton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Lady Hamilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Hamilton Cape Town
Lady Hamilton Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing