We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:01 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Apartheid tour

Went on this tour 2 times in less than a month! Yeah! It was THAT good! The guide (Ken) is such a... read more

Reviewed yesterday
546niklass
,
Uppsala, Sweden
via mobile
Great intro to Cape Town

Ken did a great job with the history tour this morning. We learned about the city and the history... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Ori_S
,
Israel
via mobile
Read all 1,282 reviews
  
Reviews (1,282)
Filter reviews
1,109 results
Traveler rating
929
150
22
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
929
150
22
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historic tour bo kaap great tour personal stories free tour afternoon tour green market square town's history your bearings great introduction greenmarket square south african history his knowledge these guys mother city table mountain ken
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,109 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Went on this tour 2 times in less than a month! Yeah! It was THAT good! The guide (Ken) is such a good guide with alot of interesting things to tell you about the apartheid and its evilness and the good and bad people involved. The second time we went on the tour, I got really emotional, so if you know that you are easily touched - have some napkins with you.
Thanks again for two really great tours!

1  Thank 546niklass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday

Due to jet lag and Sunday shut down in the city, I did all of the Free Walking Tours. My favorites were the Bo Kaap and Apartheid to Freedom tours. Both were really interesting and took you to different parts of the city to talk about it's challenging history.

The historical downtown one is fine but overlaps a lot with Apartheid so if you have to pick, do the Apartheid one. You get more from it (personally).

Guides were overall good, very animated and passionate about their city, which I love to see.

You only pay what you think it's worth in tips, which can be awkward at the end but people were very outgoing.

Would definitely do these again and recommend them to others!

Thank Bayjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Ken did a great job with the history tour this morning. We learned about the city and the history of Cape Town from the early days to the establishment of democracy in South Africa.
We will be back tomorrow for another tour.
Thanks Ken!

Thank Ori_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

This is an excellent intro to Cape Town. Our guide ‘G’ was super fun with excellent knowledge. Highly recommend.

Thank SeanKennaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Super friendly, informative, great experience. A Must do in Cape town! We went through the history of the city and got to understand what makes cape town so special!

Thank Raquel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

Cannot say enough good things about the guides from the Cape Town Free Walking Tours. Gervais was my guide on the historic tour, and he was entertaining, engaging and absoluately top-of-the-charts in every way! Kept everyone's interest from start to finish, would have easily paid 4x or 5x for the knowledge what I received.

If you are interested in knowing what is happening at ground level, you'll find it with these guides. They are clearly passionate about what they do, and they genuinely want you to have a good time in Cape Town...so ask them for recommendations, directions, whatever...

Thank Joshua H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

Cape Town Free Walking Tours offers three different tours: Historic Cape Town, Bo Kaap, and Apartheid to Freedom. Each lasts 90-100 minutes, and you pay your guide what you wish at the end -- we did R200/adult. Some of our group of six did each tour over the course of two weeks. The tours are daily at 11, 2, and 4:20 (two tours offered each time slot; see website), starting outside Motherland Coffee Company downtown.

Some of us did the Historic Cape Town tour on my second day in South Africa. It was the perfect way to get to understand not only Capetonian but South African history, as well. Our guide was Manni, who is phenomenal. We got to know pre-European history, as well as a clearer understanding of how Indian, Malaysian and other African groups arrived in South Africa during the Dutch era, and how the British reshaped the city/country, as well.

A few people in our group did the Bo Kaap tour with Matthew. They were a little disappointed that there was not more historical information on this tour, though were thrilled with all the restaurant recommendations Matthew offered.

A couple of us did the Apartheid to Freedom tour with Manni. Though I am fairly familiar with apartheid, getting a local understanding of it was great.

Ultimately, these tours are a fabulous way to get to know the city. The guides are always happy to answer questions, and are great storytellers. I highly recommend these tours!

Thank Marie400nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We did The Historic Tour , Bo Kaap and the Apartheid to Freedom Tours.
Our guides were Ken, Matthew and Glen.
The three of them were excellent, interesting and passionate about their city / country and its history.
They were very informative and expanded our knowledge on the history of South Africa and during Apartheid.
We were able to ask questions , they were all very polite and patient
Can highly recommend, excellent.

Thank Soula50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Brilliantly- our guide was so passionate interesting and knowledgable. 2 nd tour I’ve done - both well worth it - they rely on your donations- don’t be mean !!!!

Thank out_out0201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We did all the 3 tours because these guys were so great. We had Gervas for the Bo-Kaap tour and Matthew took us for the historical and the apartheid tours. These guys have so much enthusiasm and love for their country, they are engaging, funny and made our experience a highlight for our stay. They gave great tips about hidden gems/places to visit/eat, things that we wouldn't of appreciate had we not joined the tour. We always like to do free walking tours whenever we travel worldwide and these were some of the best free walking tours we've been on.

1  Thank xiaoxiao90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews