We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome tour”

Cape Town Free Walking Tours
Ranked #11 of 331 Tours in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Join one of our seven daily free tours that run from Green Market Square on the Corner of Burg Street and Shortmarket Street. The Free tours run 365 days a year - no booking needed. We will be there. Look out for the umbrellas. Free tour number one:HISTORIC TOUR at 8:50a.m, 11 am and 2p.m: A one and a half hour tour around the centre of Cape Town with tales of iconic leadership and peaceful revolutions but also with spoiled squirrels, a 360 year old fruity guy and a very depressed lion. Free tour number two: BO KAAP TOUR at 11a.m,2 pm and 4:20p.m: A one and a half hour tour around the beautiful Bo-Kaap where you get to see the colourful houses, smell the spices of the East, hear the mosques calling for prayer and let the Cape Malay food tempt your taste buds. We might even show you some hidden away places to get a local beer. Free tour number three: DISTRICT SIX TOUR at 4:20 p.m: A one a half tour around the neighbourhood of District Six,a former inner-city residential area in Cape Town that was built by a number of different nations who were forcibly removed from the area in the 1970s during Apartheid regime. We will be taking you around the corners of the city to get a taste of how people lived and you will also get some very interesting recommendations about what to do and to eat around the area. We look forward to seeing you! :)
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Awesome tour”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Exactly what we were looking for on a Sunday morning. A good wrap up of what you need to know about capetown, some history and some bad jokes ;)! Definitely something to recommend for anyone staying in capetown for a few days.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank misstidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    741
    142
    16
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun time in Cape Town”
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Had enjoyable tour of Cape Town with Nathan who was knowledgeable and entertaining. Great way to see the city and definitely worth doing when you arrive, as it gets you orientated around the city centre.

Helpful?
Thank MTD67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Backpackers wander”
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Pretty nice walk around cape town, I got to learn about and see parts of the centre I wouldnt have got round to otherwise, definately worth doing especially as it gets you away from the waterfront.

Helpful?
Thank stannersgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome free walking tour”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This 3 hour walking tour (we stopped for lunch) is a great way to orient yourself and understand the history of Cape Town and South Africa. The guides are knowledgable and funny. Cape town is a wonderful, walkable city- walking is much nicer that driving around. i would definitely start here. The price is right. The guide works for tips are your discretion.

Wendy and Sarah

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank WendyCReed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzern, Schweiz
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding walking tour for FREE”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

On my first day at Cape Town, I joined the free walking tour. Martin, a Danish guy who moved to Cape Town, is trying to get the free walking tours started as a business. He took approximately 3 hours (he said we would walk for 2 hours) to walk with just 3 people through the downtown area with all historic sites, through different quarters and to lovely places.
Martin's knowledge is very large, he's very well informed not only about history, law, architecture and culture, but also about what's going on right now. We stopped at a local café to drink 100% African coffee. And after the tour, we went on to have a drink at a typical place.
Highly recommended to every- and anyone!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank inegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Town Free Walking Tours also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cape Town Free Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing