We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A large and well run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southern Sun Cape Sun
Ranked #34 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here at the Cape Sun, though the area seemed a little dodgy, especially at night. We did venture out on foot one evening, but not really comfortable with this.

Great food, really nice rooms, a little gym on the top floor which was useful. Great view of table mountain. Very cold though this September and was more like winter.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mich13uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Mich13uk
Thank you for taking the time to do a review on the Cape Sun.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward in creating many more magic memories for you in the not to distant future.

Warm regards,
Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager

e: charlene.campbell@tsogosun.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (920)
There are newer reviews for Southern Sun Cape Sun
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

648 - 654 of 920 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

One must take their rooms on the higher floors of this hotel. The check in was fabulous. They greeted us with hot chocolate on our arrival which really helped us cool our nerves after a hectic travel of 2 days. The hotel is very well maintained considering it has a lot of rooms. The scenic views of cape town, one of the most beautiful cities in the world are not worth missing. The location is very close to the good night life that is available for youngsters.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rushik1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Rushik1803
Thank you for taking the time to do a review on the Cape Sun.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward in creating many more magic memories for you in the near future.

Warm regards,

Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager

c: 076 176 5379

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The location of the hotel is super convenient for independent sightseeing in Cape Town.
Only 2 blocks walk to the Hop On-Hop Off Sightseeing Bus stop (bus stop #4 on the tour schedule) on Long st. The store at this bus stop sell tickets, books and any tourist information.
Money Exchange is just across the street which gives a pretty good exchange rate and open Monday to Saturday. The Hotel staff will accompany you to the Exchange if you need to.
There are many restaurants and shops near by. I really like the gourmet food section at the small department store Woolworths which is right next to the hotel.

Excellent services through out the entire 4 nights stay:
Arrival at the Hotel was greeted with juice and chocolate/cookies which energized you after the long flight.
Do utilize the concierge services. Shaun was especially informative and helpful in making reservations, arranging car services and making the vacation so much more pleasant.

Ate dinner at the lounge one night because husband is not feeling well, surprisingly good pasta, and lamb chops.

Smart street precaution just like any other big city.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CDEMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear CDEMOM
Thank you for taking the time to do a review on the Cape Sun.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back to the Cape Sun in the not to distant future.

Warm regards,
Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager

e: charlene.campbell@tsogosun.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The internet is not so great – yes, you will connect to the WiFi no problem, but the internet is incredibly slow (or doesn’t work) most of the time (although occasionally, at random, you will actually get some pages to load for a few minutes).
Rooms are really nice, and the hotel itself is really nice as well. Breakfast is ok (lots of stuff, typical buffet breakfast).
As for the area – unless you are here for a conference (convention center right across the street) there is not much around at all. Typical financial/business district area of town. Looks a bit unsafe to walk around at night, as it is a ghost town around the area with the exception of 7-730 am when there are many people outside on the way to work. So overall, good for business trips, not so fantastic for pleasure ;)

Room Tip: Had a standard double room 6th floor - big and very nice beds. Also the showers are fantastic (wate...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennejenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear JenneJen
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on the Cape Sun.

We are truly sorry for the inconvenience with the Wifi. We have not had any problems with any of our guests since the wifi was made complimentary, however it's only through feedback like yours that we are able to continuously enhance our services.

Thank you,
Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager

e: charlene.campbell@tsogosun.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in down town. They have shuttles to the water front were everybody wants to be. Breadfast is good and service excellent. Veru good value. Will go back. Down town is not nice to walk around.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andres m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Andres M
Thank you for taking the time to complete our on-line questionnaire.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward in personally welcoming you back to the Cape Sun in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,
Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager

E: charlene.campbell@tsogosun.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

the rooms are excellent with an option of table mountain/beach view. the breakfast is very lavish and tasteful. hotel staff is excellent. good central location. wonderful Wi-fi connectivity. worth every penny that you spend here.

Room Tip: take a room on a higher floor facing the Table Mountains. the changing views outside the window will...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anki_151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Anki_151
Thank you for taking the time to complete our on-line questionnaire.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Cape Sun in the not to distant future.

Warm regards,
Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager

c: 076 176 5379

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Spent 3days there. Great service. Greeted with drinks & chocolates. Wide selection of breakfast menu. Especially liked the juice & coffee bar. Bright and cheerful waiters too. Had good nights sleeping as the bed was so comfortable. The view from the 29th floor was great.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soosee Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Soosee Q
Thank you for taking the time to do a review on the Cape Sun.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Cape Sun in the not to distant future.

Warm regards,
Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#31 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,997 reviews
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#23 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,693 reviews
Strand Tower Hotel
#51 of 111 in Cape Town Central
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,314 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#35 of 111 in Cape Town Central
994 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#47 of 111 in Cape Town Central
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Cape Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Cape Sun

Address: 23 Strand Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#43 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $179 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Cape Sun 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of where it's all happening and with magnificent views over Table Mountain and Robben Island, the four star Southern Sun Cape Sun is ideally located for visitors who want to experience one of the world's most beautiful cities. Hotel guests are invited to make use of facilities like the free Wi-Fi, indoor pool, fitness centre and Camelot Spa. For business needs the hotel offers nine fully equipped conference venues with space for up to 650 delegates There are many great restaurants and bars within walking distance but our free shuttle bus departs regularly to the nearby Victoria & Alfred Waterfront providing convenient access to a range of harbour-side restaurants and first class shopping, offering great appeal to visitors in search of an indulgent escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Southern Sun Cape Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Cape Sun Hotel Cape Town Central
Southern Sun Cape Town
Southern Sun Cape Sun Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing