We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing scenic views of the entire city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Sun Cape Sun
Ranked #36 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Amazing scenic views of the entire city”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

One must take their rooms on the higher floors of this hotel. The check in was fabulous. They greeted us with hot chocolate on our arrival which really helped us cool our nerves after a hectic travel of 2 days. The hotel is very well maintained considering it has a lot of rooms. The scenic views of cape town, one of the most beautiful cities in the world are not worth missing. The location is very close to the good night life that is available for youngsters.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rushik1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Rushik1803
Thank you for taking the time to do a review on the Cape Sun.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward in creating many more magic memories for you in the near future.

Warm regards,

Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager

c: 076 176 5379
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    308
    111
    27
    16
See reviews for
116
184
43
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
176 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The location of the hotel is super convenient for independent sightseeing in Cape Town.
Only 2 blocks walk to the Hop On-Hop Off Sightseeing Bus stop (bus stop #4 on the tour schedule) on Long st. The store at this bus stop sell tickets, books and any tourist information.
Money Exchange is just across the street which gives a pretty good exchange rate and open Monday to Saturday. The Hotel staff will accompany you to the Exchange if you need to.
There are many restaurants and shops near by. I really like the gourmet food section at the small department store Woolworths which is right next to the hotel.

Excellent services through out the entire 4 nights stay:
Arrival at the Hotel was greeted with juice and chocolate/cookies which energized you after the long flight.
Do utilize the concierge services. Shaun was especially informative and helpful in making reservations, arranging car services and making the vacation so much more pleasant.

Ate dinner at the lounge one night because husband is not feeling well, surprisingly good pasta, and lamb chops.

Smart street precaution just like any other big city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CDEMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear CDEMOM
Thank you for taking the time to do a review on the Cape Sun.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back to the Cape Sun in the not to distant future.

Warm regards,
Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager

e: charlene.campbell@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The internet is not so great – yes, you will connect to the WiFi no problem, but the internet is incredibly slow (or doesn’t work) most of the time (although occasionally, at random, you will actually get some pages to load for a few minutes).
Rooms are really nice, and the hotel itself is really nice as well. Breakfast is ok (lots of stuff, typical buffet breakfast).
As for the area – unless you are here for a conference (convention center right across the street) there is not much around at all. Typical financial/business district area of town. Looks a bit unsafe to walk around at night, as it is a ghost town around the area with the exception of 7-730 am when there are many people outside on the way to work. So overall, good for business trips, not so fantastic for pleasure ;)

Room Tip: Had a standard double room 6th floor - big and very nice beds. Also the showers are fantastic (wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennejenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear JenneJen
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on the Cape Sun.

We are truly sorry for the inconvenience with the Wifi. We have not had any problems with any of our guests since the wifi was made complimentary, however it's only through feedback like yours that we are able to continuously enhance our services.

Thank you,
Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager

e: charlene.campbell@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in down town. They have shuttles to the water front were everybody wants to be. Breadfast is good and service excellent. Veru good value. Will go back. Down town is not nice to walk around.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andres m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Andres M
Thank you for taking the time to complete our on-line questionnaire.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward in personally welcoming you back to the Cape Sun in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,
Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager

E: charlene.campbell@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagpur, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

the rooms are excellent with an option of table mountain/beach view. the breakfast is very lavish and tasteful. hotel staff is excellent. good central location. wonderful Wi-fi connectivity. worth every penny that you spend here.

Room Tip: take a room on a higher floor facing the Table Mountains. the changing views outside the window will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anki_151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Anki_151
Thank you for taking the time to complete our on-line questionnaire.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Cape Sun in the not to distant future.

Warm regards,
Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager

c: 076 176 5379
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Spent 3days there. Great service. Greeted with drinks & chocolates. Wide selection of breakfast menu. Especially liked the juice & coffee bar. Bright and cheerful waiters too. Had good nights sleeping as the bed was so comfortable. The view from the 29th floor was great.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soosee Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Soosee Q
Thank you for taking the time to do a review on the Cape Sun.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Cape Sun in the not to distant future.

Warm regards,
Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here as part of a group tour from August 15th to August 19th, 2013. Upon arrival I felt like I was still in NYC as this part of town is bustling with activity. Our group was greeted with fresh drinks and things to nibble on. My room (28thFl) had great views of the city and Table Top Mountain (which was down for repairs when I was there. Should have been completed by the end of August so I just missed it :(. Ok, food-ordered a cheeseburger through room service and at first it tasted good and a few more bites I realized that I forgot in different countries the food will taste like whatever they feed their animals. The burger was not good at all! Tasted like a mixture of beef and lamb...yuuuckkk! The continental breakfast was satisfactory and I thoroughly enjoyed he fresh juices. Food outside of the hotel is a hit or miss. Ate at Debonairs pizza to the left of the hotel...HORRIBLE!! Didn't taste like what I'm used to, ordered chicken in a few places and I don't know if it's just me or African's just do not cook their chicken all the way. Every time I got chicken anywhere in African it was pink or running and I stayed in another part to Africa on this trip and had the same experience (read other review on Protea Hotel The Winkler in Joburg). KFC near the hotel I did not eat, but was with part of my group who did eat their and they said the chicken was extra greasy.
Shopping-one of my fav things to do! Definitely go to the V&A Waterfront (great restaurants for eating and seafood) shopping mall for great deals, name brand stores and Woolworths...I miss having a Woolworths in NY. there is also shopping near the hotel area and I procrastinated going to a few places that I wanted to shop at and waited til Sunday *Please note almost everything is closed on Sunday* and that includes eatery as well. The mall IS open on Sunday and so I ended up back there! LOL
Also you will need to change you money into African Rand as I learned almost all places (including eateries) will not take U.S money or credit cards. Change your money at the Change de Cambio place across the street from the hotel as they charge next to nothing to exchange money. They are open Monday-Saturday(closes at 2pm on Saturday).
And I forgot, everyone on the staff were helpful and courteous and having traveled a bit every thing I asked for I got right away. I had a problem with the heating in my room and maintenance came right away. Thank goodness cause this is winter season in S. Africa. Even the elevators were quick! I hope to return to Africa in 2yrs and if I come to this part I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with good views of the city or Table Top Mountain, change your money across the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JALUV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear JALUV
Thank you for taking the time to do a review on the Cape Sun.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Cape Sun and in Cape Town and hope to welcome you back in the not to distant future.

Warm regards,
Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager

e: charlene.campbell@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,902 reviews
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#23 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,619 reviews
Strand Tower Hotel
#52 of 109 in Cape Town Central
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
955 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#46 of 109 in Cape Town Central
776 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#48 of 109 in Cape Town Central
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Cape Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Cape Sun

Property: Southern Sun Cape Sun
Address: 23 Strand Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#43 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Cape Sun 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of where it's all happening and with magnificent views over Table Mountain and Robben Island, the four star Southern Sun Cape Sun is ideally located for visitors who want to experience one of the world's most beautiful cities. Hotel guests are invited to make use of facilities like the free Wi-Fi, indoor pool, fitness centre and Camelot Spa. For business needs the hotel offers nine fully equipped conference venues with space for up to 650 delegates There are many great restaurants and bars within walking distance but our free shuttle bus departs regularly to the nearby Victoria & Alfred Waterfront providing convenient access to a range of harbour-side restaurants and first class shopping, offering great appeal to visitors in search of an indulgent escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Southern Sun Cape Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Cape Sun Hotel Cape Town Central
Southern Sun Cape Town
Southern Sun Cape Sun Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing