We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic City Centre Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southern Sun Cape Sun
Ranked #35 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Spend 4 nights at this hotel which is located right in the business heart of Cape Town. This is a great hotel for business and all the staff were really great, warm, welcoming and very efficient. The views over Cape Town and of Table Mountain are breathtaking so try and get on one of the higher floors (we were on the 22nd floor). The elevators are glass exterior ones so those with a fear of heights may not be too happy but focusing on the views really helps.

The breakfast was amazing with a huge selection and even though every day the hotel was packed we always managed to get a table.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IntrepidMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear IntrepidMe
Thank you for taking the time to do a review on the Cape Sun.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and got to experience our true Cape hospitality. We are very proud of our Hotel and enjoy having our guests experience what we experience in Cape Town and at the Cape Sun on a daily basis.

I hope to personally welcome you back to the Cape Sun in the not to distant future.

Warm regards from a cold Cape Town!

Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager

c: 076 176 5379
e: charlene.campbell@tsogosun.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,020)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

759 - 765 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

first stayed here in August 2012. whilst I enjoyed the whole stay, I must say though that the temperature in the bar could have been tweaked up a bit. stayed again in April this year and luckily the weather was better, so no complaints about the temperature.
the view on the 18th floor facing Table Mountain is awesome.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Dirk M
Thank you for taking the time to do a review on the Southern Sun Cape Sun.

Your compliments is much appreciated and we are greatfull for your loyalty. If at any time during your stay we can assist with anything, it will be our pleasure to assist.

Hope to personally welcome you back to the Cape Sun in the not to distant future.

Warm regards from a cold Cape Town.

Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager

c: 076 176 5379
e: charlene.campbell@tsogosun.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

After a long flight we reached this beautiful hotel! The entrance and the welcome drink were very refreshing! We got a room at 24th floor with full glass window view of Cape Town! Wow! Cape town is beautiful and the view all through night and day was awesome!

Sip a cup of hot coffee watching cape town! This hotel is a place to remember!

Breakfast was elaborate! Huge variety of breads,flakes! Loved their vegetarian noodles!

Room Tip: Rooms at higher floors have excellent view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Qrio
Thank you for taking the time to do a review on the Cape Sun.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that were made a lasting impression on your holiday.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends and family back to the Cape Sun to enjoy our Cape hospitality.

Warm regards,

Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager

c: 076 176 5379
e: charlene.campbell@tsogosun.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The hotel is word class and the service is immaculate! The food, room service and facilities are simply the best and for both a business traveller and somebody being on vacation, the hotel feels like home.
Our room was upgraded and what a first class experience that was!!
There are many shops in walking distance, one feels safe in and around the hotel and to top that, the views are simply awesome!
Whenever the opportunity arises, we will stay at the Cape Sun as you get fantastic value for your money and because you are treated as somebody special!!

Room Tip: Any room will do, really. The lower floors enjoy the majestic view of Table Mountain while the highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jolgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Jolgus
Thank you for taking the time to do a review on the Cape Sun.

Your compliments is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Cape Sun to create many more magic memories for you.

Warm regards from a cold Cape Town!

Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager

c: 076 176 5379
e: charlene.campbell@tsogosun.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

To summarise :

- Busy hotel, diplomat-types, businessmen, tourists etc
- Best security/concierge team ever, nothing is too much trouble, Ahmed at concierge desk was great
- All the staff are superb and operate to very high standards. They go out of their way to help,always.
- Top Location, safe to wander around, plenty of shops/food around, easy for all transport
- Parking, taxis, tours, pizza, etc etc whatever you need, they will find a way to get it sorted
- Great food including room service
- Request a room on a higher floor, some of the best views of Table Mountain in the city
- Red Tourist Bus stops 30 seconds from the hotel door
- Shame about tiny tiny pool on the roof, and no rooftop bars to exploit amazing views


I'll Be Back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArjunSavani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear ArjunSarvani
Thank you for taking the time to do a review on the Cape Sun.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our Hotel and we are truly blessed that we are extremely busy throughout the year. We strive to have every guest experience our true Cape hospitality and from your feedback it is evident that you enjoyed it.

We hope to welcome you back to the Cape Sun in the not to distant future.

Warm regards,
Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager

c: 076 176 5379
e: charlene.campbell@tsogosun.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We attended a marathon conference yesterday at the Tsogo Cape Sun and we got spoilt! Starting with the very warm smiles from everybody in the lobby at 7.30 in the morning, being immediately directed to the conference floor with a beautiful presented and very tasty breakfast spread. The chef came personally at every break and made sure that everything was fine. It was not only fine, if was outstanding! When speaking with the staff, I could hear how proud the were of their hotel, one said to me, that it is an honour for him to work at this hotel. We were so well looked after, that we didn't "feel" the 13 hours we spent.

The very spacious and gracious conference room had the latest equipment, very comfortable chairs and was serviced at every break. In the conference room snacks/beverages were provided for every taste! When looking for the perfect conference venue in the city of Cape Town, don't look any further!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanneCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear SusanneCapeTown
Thank you for taking the time to do a review on the Cape Sun.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our service from the moment you walked in the front door. Conferencing is a key part of our Hotel as we can cater for up to 600 people depending on the seating arrangements.

We look forward to hosting your conference again in the not to distant future.

Kind regards,

Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager
C: 076 176 5379
e: charlene.campbell@tsogosun.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We booked on line and stayed for 2 nights from the 13/04/13.

We requested early check-in having flown from London Heathrow on an overnight flight. The staff gave us every consideration and we had our room by 10.30 am. We had a very comfortable room overlooking the sea, but on reflection think we should have chosen a mountain view. No problems with this though as the glass lift to our floor gave us every opportunity to view Table Top mountain - stunning.
Breakfast was excellent and staff greeted us by name at all times. The free shuttle bus to the Waterfront was a real bonus running from early morning to late evening. The Red/Blue hop on hop off bus also picked up aroung the corner. Should we visit Cape Town again we would without a doubt stay at this hotel.

Many thanks for a wonderful stay

Room Tip: Choose higher floor with a mountain view - however the sea view room was very comfortable and very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Barbara C
Thank you for taking the time to do a review on the Cape Sun.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt our true Cape hospitality. We pride ourselves on our service and we want all our guests to feel like they're at home.

Enjoy the rest of your cruise and we hope to welcome you back to the Cape Sun in the not to distant future.

Take care,

Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager

c: 076 176 5379
e: charlene.campbell@tsogosun.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,833 reviews
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,167 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#37 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa
#36 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,012 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#39 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,407 reviews
City Bowl
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
#40 of 112 in Cape Town Central
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Cape Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Cape Sun

Address: 23 Strand Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#42 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $155 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Cape Sun 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of where it's all happening and with magnificent views over Table Mountain and Robben Island, the four star Southern Sun Cape Sun is ideally located for visitors who want to experience one of the world's most beautiful cities. Hotel guests are invited to make use of facilities like the free Wi-Fi, indoor pool, fitness centre and Camelot Spa. For business needs the hotel offers nine fully equipped conference venues with space for up to 650 delegates There are many great restaurants and bars within walking distance but our free shuttle bus departs regularly to the nearby Victoria & Alfred Waterfront providing convenient access to a range of harbour-side restaurants and first class shopping, offering great appeal to visitors in search of an indulgent escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Southern Sun Cape Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Cape Sun Hotel Cape Town Central
Southern Sun Cape Town
Southern Sun Cape Sun Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing