We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southern Sun Cape Sun
Nearby Hotels
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$171
$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$101
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$116
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Derwent House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$154
$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$197
$160
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
$184
$92
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
$762
$733
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$752
$427
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
$549
$429
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,056)
Filter reviews
1,056 results
Traveler rating
493
378
131
34
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
493
378
131
34
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstrand streettable mountaintsogo sunhigh floorfree shuttletwo oceanswater frontshuttle serviceroom servicelong streetper daybuffet breakfastenjoyed my stayexcellent hotelrooms are spaciousthe hotel offersbusiness trip
Filter
Updating list...
834 - 839 of 1,056 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at this wonderful hotel for one night and it was one of the best hotels that i have stayes in for a long time. We arrived a bit early and still we were welcome with smiles for the doormen right trough to housekeeping!! I the room on the 30th floor was simply AMAZING!! We stayed in room 3013 with a view of table mountain. All that we needed was in the room. We LOVED the buffet style breakfast and if that is so wonderfull i would really like to know how dinner would be!! Will really recommodate your hotel to all my friends and family!! Please tell your staff toe keep up the good service. Hope to see you soon in the near future.

Yours Sincerly
Juan-Re Grundlingh

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuanRe15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda F, Revenue Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time out to give us some feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to meeting your personally upon your next visit.
Regards – Amanda Fanton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were here for four nights in late September and thought our room was spacious and comfortable however we noticed that the room was uncomfortably hot in the afternoons despite having the air-con. on maximum cooling. We brought this problem to the attention of the front office however only a marginal improvement resulted and it was still not satisfactory.

Our other issue was more endemic and that is the fact that the hotel is located in an area that is not particularly attractive or comfortable after dark. After walking out on our first evening in an endeavour to find an appealing restaurant, we felt distinctly uncomfortable and from then on confined ourselves to the V&A waterfront for dinners. Fortunately taxis are readily available and reasonably priced (after stating our price of 50 Rand) but it was still an added cost and inconvenience.

We found all other aspects of the hotel entirely satisfactory including breakfasts and we found the staff particularly friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lexus51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda F, Revenue Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to give us feedback. I am glad that our staff were friendly and accommodating and I do apologise for the fact that your room was not cooled as expected. We are a city centre hotel and so walking outside at night is not recommended. We do take part in City Security iniatives and regularly meet to ensure that the area around the hotel is kept clean and well lite. We also do offer a shuttle service to the Waterfront on an hourly basis.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Regards – Amanda Fanton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I was disappointed how dated the hotel was when I arrived - its very much in need of a cosmetic facelift. Rooms, Lobby everything reek of 1970s/1980s - but all is forgiven when you get in the elevator and see the views as you ascend....and if you face the sea or the mountain - the views are just spectacular. It would be twice the price if it was smarter....so I guess its great value....but I would pay twice the price for this view and a great interior! Lastly - the staff couldn't be more friendly. Despite lots of tour groups staying here - there is enough people with the right attitude to make the difference....not the norm in RSA.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda F, Revenue Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you ever so much for your feedback. Our staff are our biggest asset and I am glad that the service they provided to you will be remembered. We do have some exciting developments happening , so next time you are town , please contact me and I will show you around the hotel.

Kind Regards

Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

A bunch of friends stayed over at the Cape Sun after a night out at ArtsCape. What an experience! The friendly welcome at the Valet parking atendent, the staff welcoming you in the lobby, taking care of your luggage, showing you where to be. The friendly staff at the check-in counter let you feel at home from the first minute. The rooms are neat and tidy, the views are spectacular and the linen is crisp and clean. The lifts can be a bit overwelming for those with fear of heights, but a superb view especially at night!
The breakfast is an absolute bliss, and the staff were very professional and helpful.
We came back at 23h30 from the show, and the barman entertained us with drinks and snacks. We had a lovely time, and would definitely be back for another stay at the Cape Sun!!!
Well done to every member of the Cape Sun's staff!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristelViljoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda F, Revenue Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that our team exceeded your expectations. Many are quick to criticise, but few take the time to compliment. I will be sure to share your comments with my team.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

First the location - Its a bit of a distance from the waterfront but then again it does not advertise itself as a waterfront hotel. Interesting to note that a few of the hotels that do state waterfront are actually also a bit on the far side from the waterfront. So this for us was not a problem. The hotel is centrally located a short distance from some restaurant, a bus stop and what was great was that the Red/Blue Tour buses have a stop just around the corner from the hotel entrance. Parking is charged so be prepaired.

Second the Feel - The hotel is obvioulsy an older hotel with the lounge and loby walls taking you a step back in time and the tall artificial palm trees really dating it further. However I must mention that there is evidence of rejuvenation everywhere from the lounge and bar furniture to the modern floral arrangements which go a long way to lift the appearance to 2012.

Third the rooms - Spacious, very clean and THE BEST PILLOWS and matresses ever! We overslept and missed most of our planned early activities without fail. Everything worked.

Fourth the views - We had two rooms ours was mountain facing absolutely awesome to wake up and go to sleep with Table Mountain greeting you in all her moods, the kids had a sea facing room with distant views of the sea also absolutely beautiful, the windows needed a wash though to complete the picture.

Fifth the food - Breakfast great, very busy in the morning and service a bit lacking, Dinner, tried it twice both ala carte and buffet, you can give it a miss. Besides with all the amazing restaurants in Cape Town you'll be spoilt for choice.

Finally service in general - very lacking in most cases especially the restaurant staff maybe it was because it was over a busy period but on a number of occassions orders placed either never materialised or only appeared after several reminders. Having said that it was interesting that both my kids 9 and 17 said it was one of their best stays ever and they loved it! curiosly the hotel is not really marketed as a 'family' hotel.

Room Tip: As has been mentione before choose one of the upper floors, great views.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2DOZENWHITEROSES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear valued guest
Thank you for taking the time to do a review of the Cape Sun.

Your feedback is invaluable in our bid to continuously enhance our services and to ensure that we actually give our guests what they want for their next stay.

We do hope to welcome you back to the Cape Sun in the not to distant future.

Kind regards,

Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews