We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View in Cape Town”
Review of Koi - CLOSED

Koi
Price range: $12 - $14
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Simplistic yet confortable, Koi promises a unique dining experience combining Asian expertise with contemporary style.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

So pleased that the successful Johannesburg group of restaurants 'Koi', opened in Cape Town in the superb setting of the Ambassador Hotel, Bantry Bay, with great views over at any time of day and evening of this beautiful ocean front location, rare in Cape Town. We enjoyed the Asian menu with lots of choices, both seafood and much more, with good wines on offer and excellent service. We'll be back here soon, it just ticks all the boxes!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LewR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMediaSA, Public Relations Manager at Koi, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you for your great feed-back. We look forward to your next visit :) The KOI Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 100 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014

What a disappointment. The service is from Management level non existence.
The food is more a less above average. Peking Duck pancakes all wrong to thick etc. Food cold.
Order was wrong. Overcharged.
Décor not on standard for such a setting or price class.
All in all there are much better places to enjoy good cuisine, service and ambiance in Cape Town.
The only plus is the setting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank susandph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMediaSA, Public Relations Manager at Koi, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Hi Susan. Thank you for the review and we are sad your experience was not up to standard. Please be so kind as to email us your details to koi@imagedesign.co.za Thank you, Jean-Claude

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

The views are exceptionally beautiful in the restaurant, such a beautiful spot.

I was really looking forward to trying this restaurant as the menu is so varied.

We ordered the dim sum platters where you get 6 different dim sum. These were terrible all four of our party were very disappointed with what was on offer. These items had no resemble to any chinese dim sum I've had anywhere in the world. Forgetting it was dim sum and judging it purely on taste, not nice.

I ordered thr seared tuna main with wasabi mayo, ant this was ok, a little over cooked and after a few mouthfuls, quite bland. Others in our party ordered the stir fried beef, this was ok but again didn't have very good spicing. The sushi was nice, but you cant go far wrong with good quality ingredients.

When it came to desserts we were told that the kitchen had closed and all they could offer was sorbet? At no point did the waiting staff advise that we needed to order dessert in advance, which is poor. At 10.30pm on a Saturday night, why would the kitchen be closed.

Overall the service was very slow, we mentioned to our waiter how cold the restaurant was; so much so, we kept our coats on! The food wasn't authentic to asian cuisine , more fusion with an odd interpretation. The taste was lacking and a bit of a let down. I'd suggest for a gpod meal go somewhere like thw test kitchen where experimental cuisine is successful.

3  Thank rainbowrover2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

First time visitors to Koi are enthralled by the stunning scenery. The restaurant has undergone a few name changes (formerly SALT) and is in demand due to the view, so book a table at the window. Thankfully the food does not suffer at the expense of the scenery.
If you enjoy duck, get the pancake dish. It is a generous, succulent portion, accompanied by vegetables and a sauce where you can make your own duck pancakes. They also have a sushi menu. All dishes are pleasantly plated and the service is relaxed but attentive. The restaurant is in the Ambassador Hotel and free valet parking is available and recommended due to the traffic on the main road.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMediaSA, Public Relations Manager at Koi, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Thank you for the positive feed-back. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again soon. Have a fantastic day, The KOI Team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The seared tuna is amazing. Actually its all good. Well worth a visit. Asian fusion...love it, and Koi do it really well. And then there's the amazing setting of the restaurant in Bantry Bay

Thank Pragasen821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMediaSA, Public Relations Manager at Koi, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Thank you for the positive feed-back. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again soon. Have a fantastic day, The KOI Team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koi also viewed

Cape Town, Cape Town
Cape Town, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing