We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best View In Cape Town!”
Review of Koi - CLOSED

Koi
Price range: $12 - $14
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Simplistic yet confortable, Koi promises a unique dining experience combining Asian expertise with contemporary style.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

My daughters and I enjoyed a wonderful lunch at Koi celebrating their end of year exams. As a starter we shared incredibly crispy vegetable springrolls with exciting cocktails.

We wanted to try the sushi which looked amazing but didn't want to fill ourselves too much as we had dinner arrangements. For main we loved our Indonesian veg noodles, best I've ever had! Wowww as for the portions, very generous, but then who's complaining!!!

I would love to have tried one of the dessert options which sounded heavenly but definitely next time. Also worth mentioning ..... the valet parking, such a pleasure and so professional and friendly. Also highlight of the day, Cedric our waiter; perfect service without being too in your face and just the most wonderful sense of humour!

We will definitely be back for more good food, dessert and that spectacular SEA VIEW!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MerlotCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 94 of 100 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

If you want to have a business dinner or a romantic dinner this is not the place. The sound in this restaurant is extremely loud. You really need to shout to each other.
The food is Asian style but very far from Asia unfortunately.
The service is Cape Town service which is poor. The wine list is ok 7/10 if you are into South African wines.
The view from the restaurant are magnificat, 10 out of 10

Thank Andrew18985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

KOI (Cape Town) is ensconced in Bantry Bay opposite Salt, offering the Atlantic Seaboard an Asian contemporary inspired cuisine with the expectation of efficacious service delivery, complex culinary flavours with the added bonus of lunching with an astounding view. The wooden theme and simple décor allow for guests to drink in the topography while lending itself to Asian sentiment.

We were promptly seated with a smile and provided the little black books of gastronomic promise, selecting Pierre Jordan bubbles (R214) as this was an occasion to celebrate, followed by a variety of orders from dim sum, spring rolls to wok-seared fillet.

Dim sum literally meaning touch the heart, did just this. The Vegetarian Dim Sum Platter, six pieces of spinach and cream cheese and butternut, spinach and feta (R74) was delightful. The Roast Duck Spring Rolls (R55) were tasty, however could have been more delicately encased and the filling was, for lack of a better word, predictable.

The resounding favourite was the Wok-Charred Beef Fillet (R145) beautifully plated on a bed of Asian greens accompanied by edamame puree and exotic mushrooms. The balance of flavours, textures and tenderness of the fillet delivered much to be desired.

Albeit an expensive lunch out, KOI delivered both in service and fare, with a promise that we would be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KleeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

At best this restaurant is average. It lacks warmth and though modern and trendy in wood panelling, it seems cold and vacant. There are no curtains so you are afforded a beautiful view of the ocean but we all kept our jackets on because we were so cold. Our waiter was good and even remembered what our friends had eaten over a month ago. But the food was seriously lacking. I had crystal rolls , boring and I imaginative and served with a tiny amount of sauce. I had the crispy duck with pancakes for a main , and the duck meat was dry and cold and not crispy. I have had far better at Kitima or Haiku. The rest of the party had sashimi salads and linefish. Neither were exceptional. The only item that was declared good was the seared salmon. We tried one of their ice cream lollies for dessert and the banana and chocolate spring roll. Our guest had a bite of the lollie and left it and my banana and chocolate spring roll was served tepid, the pastry not done through and the filling not melting out. I didn't bother finishing it. The meal was R900 per couple with a bottle of wine and tip included. I consider that very expensive for what was a very mediocre meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Amber D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMediaSA, Public Relations Manager at Koi, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing KOI. We appreciate your feedback and assure you all our teething issues have been dealt with. We look forward in offering you great service and great food and seeing you again soon. Have a wonderful day, the "KOI Team" :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2015
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonBail, Owner at Koi, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koi also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing