We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at The Welgelegen”
Review of Welgelegen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Welgelegen
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Stay at The Welgelegen”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

An excellent place to begin our three week tour in South Africa, The Welgelegen is within easy walking distance of Kloof Street and several restaurants. I recommend both Café Paradiso and The Saigon as ones that we ate at, but there are several others that looked equally as good.
Both Fiona and Colleen and all of the staff are both welcoming and very helpful. The rooms are good and well-appointed and there is a good choice for breakfast.
I have just read the last 3 reviews and would generally agree with everything they say.
Thank you for a wonderful 5 nights.
Stephen & Sara Read

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are both quiet and close to a 2 bay parking area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    55
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
69
286
12
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Very good base for exploring Cape Town. Situated in quiet back street, but very near busy Kloof Street with a huge variety of restaurants, and with a backdrop of Table Mountain. The building consists of two houses sharing a quiet pretty central courtyard with a plunge pool. Fiona and Colleen couldn't have been more helpful with restaurant bookings, and also helped us obtain tickets for the Table Mountain Cable Car. Their spirit of friendliness and helpfulness permeates through the whole team-we were treated to genuine smiles and friendliness from everyone every day. The breakfast on offer was generous, with a good variety of items available. Our room was nice with a good sized comfortable bed. Possible to walk to the V&A waterfront in about 40 mins. ( longer, with a detour to Bo Kaap for some fantastic photos). We felt safe in this district, and although not central, we felt lucky to have chosen this hotel. Recommend Cafe Paradiso for a great meal, very close by.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jollywheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights, and loved it - very stylish, fantastic breakfast, and best of all perfect location within 5 mins' walk from some great trendy restaurants; and 10 min drive from Table Mountain. Thanks to Colleen & Fiona and the team for looking after us so well

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dermotfinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

What a splendid place to start our three week holiday in South Africa. This boutique hotel is situated close to Table Mountain and easy walking distance of Kloof Street. The breakfasts could not be faulted and were some of the best we have ever had. Our room could not be better, very comfortable, clean and even homemade cookies in a jar!! Fiona and Colleen are excellent hosts and very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them whether it was booking taxis or recommending and booking restaurants. Couldn't fault the staff and very friendly. The V and A is walkable and takes approximately twenty to twenty five minutes. We stopped on route to walk round Bo Kaap which is worth a visit. A stop for the Big Red Bus tour is close by which is convenient and likewise the Nelson Hotel if you fancy a superb afternoon tea! We would certainly recommend this hotel and will return one day without doubt.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onleaveagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed here for three nights. The place was very nice. The room was big and comfortable with a beautiful view of Table Mountain. Breakfast had the best fruit salad I have ever had!! Conveniently located near Klooth Rd so you can take a short walk to a large selection of good restaurants. Ten minutes from the very busy V&A Waterfront. Massage was great! Overall, LOVED it!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabrielaTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My children and I spent 3 nights at the Welgelegen while visiting CapeTown, and had a wonderful experience. The rooms are spacious, well appointed, with high ceilings, and lots of Victorian charm, My room had it's own private courtyard, as well as views of Table Mountain - amazing. The staff were all friendly and accommodating, and the daily breakfast that is included provided many delicious choices.

There are many restaurants within walking distance, and the waterfront area is just a short taxi ride away. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
186 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is a peaceful retreat from a hectic city, and is well placed for visits to Table Mountain. Close to Kloof Street, this is a well located guest house. Positioned at the end of a peaceful cul de sac, which allows for plenty of guest parking, its in the quiet and safe suburb of Garden. Formed from two Victorian-style houses - extending between Stephen Street and Hofmeyer - they are connected by a paved garden, with loungers and featuring a plunge pool.

The house is run by a warm and efficient team - including the day time manager, Colleen, and the night manager, Simon, who are generally to be found in the reception building, tucked away below the house. The dining room staff and groundsman are similarly friendly and welcoming.

On arrival you will find a small bottle of port and a welcome tray of fruit. Facilities include complimentary Wi-Fi , as well as satellite TV, air-conditioning, home made biscuits and tea-and-coffee-making facilities. Taxis can be booked direct from your room or, at request, by the concierge service. A folder with local information - including details of take away food services - is a useful addition.

The house also includes a therapy centre - massages are available on request. And if we had arrived in Cape Town from the UK, the Flight Recovery Package sounded very appealing.

The buildings have been lovingly restored and the owner, Fiona Evans, has a great eye for combining South African art with a touch of period bohemia to create the very definition of a boutique hotel. Breakfast - served in the lovely dining room, with contemporary furnishings and eclectic African art, which opens onto the pool terrace - includes a range of fresh fruit salad, juices, cheeses, cold meats, yoghurt, cereals and bread, plus hot food cooked to order. The adjoining sitting room/library is spacious, high ceilinged yet cosy.

Our room wasn't huge, but it was well appointed. It included its own private garden with views of Table Mountain, a lily pond, and gold fish.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are likely to be quieter. The downstairs rooms at the front of the house are closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veggiemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,392 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
An African Villa
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,242 reviews
City Bowl
Four Rosmead
Four Rosmead
#3 of 109 in Cape Town Central
526 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 155 in Cape Town Central
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welgelegen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welgelegen

Property: Welgelegen
Address: 6 Stephen Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Welgelegen 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Welgelegen Boutique Hotel - an urban sanctuary in the heart of Cape Town". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Welgelegen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welgelegen Hotel Cape Town Central
Welgelegen Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing