We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Welgelegen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Welgelegen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Our family spent 5 nights at the Welgelegan and loved it. The staff is welcoming and helpful, the guest rooms and common rooms are beautiful and it quickly feels like home - only better! We loved everything about it and would recommend it highly!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GGB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
There are newer reviews for Welgelegen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 447 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

Welgelegen was simply wonderful. The location is great, the staff is amazing, and everyone was so helpful in providing suggestions and bookings. They leave chocolate on your pillow with a weather report, and warm water bottles to keep your feet warm on cold nights. They even leave a cookie jar in your room for snacking! The room was beautiful, as well as the view of Table Mountain, when it wasn't cloudy. We were able to walk to many restaurants and shopping areas.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roxanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

What a perfect place to stay in Cape Town. In a beautiful neighborhood ("the Gardens") right at the base of Table Mountain and close to all of the restaurants and bars on Kloof Street. The hotel itself is really lovely. The decor is amazing and the breakfast was delicious - you can order anything you want, along with a buffet of pastries, fruit, yogurt etc. And the staff was so helpful - always happy to give us advice and recommendations. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYCwanderlusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Welgelegen will remain as my top Guest House in South Africa, and possible the world. The decor, the service, the tranquility, the linens, the bath products, the breakfast, and the courtyard bring a smile to my face. I have already and will continue to recommend this to anyone I meet who's heading to Cape Town. Stunning place and a great value for it's superior accomdation and service. Perfect location in the city but remains quiet and set apart.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmericanGirlTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed at Welgelgen for four nights at the start of our honeymoon and we could not have asked for a better start! The staff were extremely helpful suggesting restaurants, booking trips and generally assisting where they could. The rooms were beautifully decorated and the little touches really set the guesthouse apart such as port, homemade cookies and a hot water bottle and the weather report in the evening. The breakfasts were delicious and there was a huge choice which really set you up for the day ahead. We would recommend for anyone visiting Cape Town.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank em99w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

My granddaughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the lovely Welgelegen Guest House, even if we didn't learn how to say it correctly. The house is beautifully appointed and the staff led by the gracious Fionna, is amazing. We saw Table Mountain from our room, appreciated the delicious full breakfast and all the amenities that are thoughtfully provided.
Be prepared to use taxis to get to most places; but it's worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phyllis b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We enjoyed an absolutely perfect long weekend at Welgelegen at the end of May. It's beautifully decorated, unbelievably comfortable, perfectly located and the breakfasts are so good that I am currently trying to replicate one of the recipes we ate one morning.

It's also a thoroughly pleasant place to spend time because Fiona, Anine, Colleen and all their colleagues take incredible thoughtful care of you - even offering a gin and tonic and to tumble dry soggy clothes after a wet day out.

If we did not live thousands of miles away, I'd be there every weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 366COS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,412 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,846 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#9 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,551 reviews
City Bowl
Four Rosmead
Four Rosmead
#3 of 111 in Cape Town Central
537 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welgelegen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welgelegen

Address: 6 Stephen Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $116 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Welgelegen 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Welgelegen Boutique Hotel - an urban sanctuary in the heart of Cape Town". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Welgelegen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welgelegen Hotel Cape Town Central
Welgelegen Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing