We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the twisting trip up”
Review of Signal Hill

Signal Hill
Book In Advance
More Info
$21.32*
and up
Table Mountain Off-Road Scooter Tour
More Info
$252.74*
and up
Cape Peninsula: Day Tour from Cape Town
More Info
$276.43*
and up
Cape Town City and Constantia Wine Route Private Day Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Signal Hill is so named because it was a site for flying flags to communicate weather conditions, thus providing opportune vistas of spectacular views.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“worth the twisting trip up”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

try and go both early morning and late afternoon to get the best clean views - there are loos here and one afternoon a mobile coffee van but nothing else except amazing views

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank arnold j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,600
    939
    179
    15
    9
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not very interesting”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I hear it's a great place to hike as well, but otherwise looking at the cannons isn't all that exciting.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MsStarV21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Picture Time!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Took a nice, easy drive up Signal Hill. It does not take long and it is a free site. If Table Mountain is closed, make sure you come here. I would do both if possible. The HOHO bus does not go here during the daytime. We had great views of the city bowl, V&A, inside the stadium, Sea Point, and of course Table Mountain. If you don't have a long lens, which you would need taking pictures from Table Mountain, this is a great place to be. Walking around the top of Signal Hill affords you many interesting angles for picture taking. There is a small parking lot and rest rooms. If you're lucky, maybe the local para-sailors will snag a customer while you are there, and you can watch a tandem jump. Next time, we will try a night visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Paragliding!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We didn't actually hike up Signal Hill; we rode to the top and had booked a tandem paragliding experience. It was probably the best thing we did while in Cape Town. It was so amazing to step off the mountain and be lifted up by the wind soaring above the town with views of the ocean, the town and the mountains. What an amazing view! I could have stayed up there all day! We landed so softly on the grass below. A must-do!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank tomahasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greyton, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
“Great views but can be dangerous”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great views of Cape Town ,but do not Bo there late at night or alone. People have been attacked on occasion.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank AndrewCTKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Signal Hill also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Signal Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing