We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must hike up to Lions Head”
Review of Lion's Head

Lion's Head
Book In Advance
More Info
$78.65*
and up
Cape Point Tour from Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You must hike up to Lions Head”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I went on a full moon hike. Seeing the sun setting over the Atlantic and the (full) moon rising over Cape Town. Absolutely stunning. A must do when you are in Cape Town.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 888globetrotter_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,873 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,164
    621
    81
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hugo, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Moderate difficulty, well worth if for the amazing view”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

I went on a warm day around 10:30am. I am not a particularly fit person and it took me almost two hours to make it to the top. There are very few shady areas to rest along the way.

The top part of the climb is just that a climb on rocks. But once you are at the top the view is amazing.

There has been incidences of crime on the hike but the day I went there was security in the mountain and lots of hikers. Still I wouldn't do it alone.

Be sure to take enough water and sunscreen.

Helpful?
Thank Nikki5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LION'S HEAD - CAPE TOWN - 5PM - TUE 05 MAR 14”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Great views and a good physical workout.

It appears I walked the long way up. I came to a hut where there was a footpath to one side, and a road on the other. Being on foot I chose the footpath and it took quite a while to get to the top. At the top I met some friends from my tour group; we descended at the same time, and I then realised that I should have taken the vehicle track on the way up. A bit of investment in a couple of signs to aid walkers would be appreciated.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Spence-Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“lovely walk to lions head for sunset”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Nice walk with some climbing - make sure to have good shoes with you! You won't be alone up there! If you stay there for sunset, have a light for the way back with you. Excellent view to table mountain and cost line.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nitrameieiei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Easy scenic climb”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Well marked path, a couple of ladders and chains to hold on to. Even if you don't go past the wide part of the path, well worth for some of the most scenic views of Cape Town. Not to be missed.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank benoitj507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lion's Head also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
 

Been to Lion's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing