We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Table Mountain Hiking Tour”
Review of AWOL Tours

AWOL Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$47.67*
and up
Private Hiking Tour of Table Mountain
More Info
$47.67*
and up
Cape Town City Cycling Tour
More Info
$75.48*
and up
Private Tour: Bicycle Township Tour in Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: AWOL Tours offers exclusive hiking and biking adventures, with opportunities for genuine cultural exchange and natural encounters, personalised to ensure your extraordinary travel experience. AWOL Tours is a leading outdoor travel specialist for hiking and bicycle tourism in Cape Town, South Africa. We offer you opportunities for breathtaking adventure and authentic interactions. Our experienced AWOL team balance expert trip planning with eco-friendly activities, creating thrilling, memorable travel experiences for you. We've been at the forefront of responsible tourism since 2002, with repeated awards and happy client reviews to prove our success.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Table Mountain Hiking Tour”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

we did this tour by accident, since the cable car was not running for maintenance reasons. it was the best that could happen to us. we booked a tour at V&A waterfront with Helen. a very quick and easy process, Helen was able to answer all our questions without hesitation.

the tour itself started around 9am. David, our tour guide, picked a route that brought us pretty straight forward up to table mountain. in the first place I was a bit worried if we could keep up with his pace but then he either slowed down or we adjusted to his pace. he actually made a lot of short breaks to allow our heart rate to normalize and our muscles to relax. you might think you could do the climbing without a break but believe me. you need all your energy for the descent.

David told us (ZA first timers) a lot about the flora and fauna of the mountain region, about ZA history and its current political, societal and natural issues/problems. it was very interesting and we learned a lot more during this tour with him then reading books or in a travel guide.

the view from table mountain on cape town and all the surrounding areas is stunning. and it is more stunning when you know that you made it up to the top by yourself. we had a picnic to refill our batteries on top of the mountain, food that David brought along for us. we were actually also lucky to see a group of rock dassies.

we can highly recommend the tour and AWOL tours. thanks again AWOL tours and in particular David

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOAWOL, Manager at AWOL Tours, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hi Melvin! Nice to hear that you enjoyed the sometimes strenuous hike up Table Mountain with Dave. He is a very experienced hiking and nature guide and we are glad that you had the chance to learn so much from him. Table Mountain offers a beautiful scenery and a diverse flora and fauna which is best to be discovered on a hike with AWOL Tours. Thank you for choosing us and for sharing this nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    54
    5
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Fabulous experience best way to the Cape”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My son and I had a fabulous time on the tour , the guide was excellent , this is the best way to get to know the city , informative interactive and at your own pace . Highly recommend the tour to everyone going to Cape Town .
Sanjay Narula

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOAWOL, Manager at AWOL Tours, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hi Sanjay! We are pleased to hear that you and your son enjoyed cycling in Cape Town with our guide and it is nice to hear that you share our passion for interactive and tailor-made tours. Thanks for this nice feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely would recommend!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We used AWOL for two tours; the Cape Town City bike tour and Table Mountain Hiking tour. Both we were excellent and they will be something we will never forget. We had Jeremy as a tour guide for both and he was very accommodating and allowed us to move at our own pace, taking breaks when needed and letting us take in the stunning views.

The city cycling tour gives a good overview and history of Cape Town. You cycle by a lot of historic areas of the city and buildings while also important moderns building such as the new football stadium.

The Table Mountain hike was both challenging and rewarding. They geared the hiking trail to our abilities. Jeremy brought water, sandwiches, and other snacks for us while we hiked to the top. It was amazing to see how the foliage and weather changed as you worked your way to the top.

Overall, I would highly recommend this tour company.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOAWOL, Manager at AWOL Tours, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hi Sarah, thanks a lot for this nice feedback! We are happy to learn you enjoyed hiking and cycling in Cape Town with our fantastic and knowledgeable guide Jeremy. It is AWOL's passion to ensure that guests have a wonderful time on their trips in Cape Town and learn about South African nature and history.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic personalised service”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Sally of Awol tours has got to be the most warm hearted person out! She makes every guest feel as if he/she is special and means such a lot to her. In the process she shares so much of herself and goes all out to make the tour a really memorable occasion. She gives adviceonanything and will make your trip to Cape Town simply fantastic

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank maryvdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOAWOL, Owner at AWOL Tours, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hi Mary! Thanks a lot for your beautiful review! I am glad you enjoy AWOL Tours services. It is our passion to make people happy by showing them around Cape Town and South Africa and we will do our best to keep our services excellent in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
“AWOL Tours 10 out of 10”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My friends and I were lucky enough to be in Capetown recently for the day with no plans. We came across an AWOL Tours Desk at the V&A Waterfront and booked a tour out to Cape Hope National Park (I think that's what it's called)with some bike riding involved. We were picked up the following morning by our handsome guide, Leonard, who was our driver, tour guide and expert for the day. The day tour was so much more than we expected we were fortunate enough to see many of the animals which call the national park home and were shown some of the most beautiful scenery. When bike riding Leo followed us patiently in the car and kindly drove between us and an ostrich. We were then treated to more scenery delights on our way to lunch which was at a lovely cafe situated as part of a family business. The day was far better than we ever expected which was enhanced by the humour, friendliness and experience of our guide.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOAWOL, Manager at AWOL Tours, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hi Lauren! Thank you so much for your nice review. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your trip to the Cape of Good Hope so much and that you had fun cycling through the beautiful scenery of the Cape. Leo is a very good qualified nature and culture guide and we are glad you had the opportunity to learn from him about Cape Town and South Africa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AWOL Tours also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to AWOL Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing