We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine tasting dayand cycling/Cape Point and cycling day”
Review of AWOL Tours

AWOL Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$46.15*
and up
Cape Town City Cycling Tour
More Info
$57.68*
and up
Private Tour: Bicycle Township Tour in Cape Town
More Info
$53.84*
and up
Private Hiking Tour of Table Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: AWOL Tours offers exclusive hiking and biking adventures, with opportunities for genuine cultural exchange and natural encounters, personalised to ensure your extraordinary travel experience. AWOL Tours is a leading outdoor travel specialist for hiking and bicycle tourism in Cape Town, South Africa. We offer you opportunities for breathtaking adventure and authentic interactions. Our experienced AWOL team balance expert trip planning with eco-friendly activities, creating thrilling, memorable travel experiences for you. We've been at the forefront of responsible tourism since 2002, with repeated awards and happy client reviews to prove our success.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had two fantastic days with AWOL Tours and our lovely tour guide Leonard. Our first day
was to the wine region for wine tasting/lunch/cycling in the beautiful South African Countryside. Leonard is knowledgeable, friendly and made sure we had a great day out.
Our next day out was the Cape tour with a lovely bike ride around the national park with plenty of stops along the way. Later went to for lunch and a bike ride around the township Masiphumelele with another guide who lived in the township as well as Leonard. It was another wonderful, interesting and memorable day, thank you AWOLTours. I would recommend you to anyone visiting Cape Town.

Thank Anne and John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOAWOL, Owner at AWOL Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Hi Anne and John Thanks so much for sharing your experiences and the wonderful feedback on your Winelands and cape point cycling tour with Leonard. I'm glad that you also had an opportunity to tour Masiphumelele by bike with Zwai (AWOL Township guide). All the best with future travels. Kind regards
Sally (AWOL Tours director)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

326 - 330 of 460 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

The cycle tour around Cape Town was perfect with teenage children and a great introduction for first time visitors. Our knowledgeable guide covered history, geography and topical information which was appropriate for all the family. We were all given water for our journey which we certainly needed, but we found plenty of shade along the way. We all enjoyed covering areas on our bike that we wouldn't have been able to see on foot or car. We took a little time to find the meeting point but it was a great day out. S, S, L & S

Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOAWOL, Owner at AWOL Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thanks so much for sharing your experience of AWOL's city cycle tour of Cape Town with us. We glad you had a wonderful day out with our cycling guide. Thanks for pointing out the difficulties of finding our office at the V&A Waterfront. I will in future make a point of sending detailed map to future visitiors. All the best Sally AWOL Tours director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

fantastic and humbling experinece to cycle around Masi - to glimpse how much you really need to survive but more than that still be happy. No romantic view of township life but really engaging to see and talk to people who make this community tick. Triggered some rally good and healthy discussions with teens about how much we have and our responsibility to be good stewards of it.

Thank AndyandSarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

It was a pleasant 2 hour historic walk highlighting Cape Town historic milestones. Experienced guide and small group. Perfect for the traveller who wants to know what to visit in Cape Town in terms of its history and plan its days in the city. I recommend AWOL Tours for their experience.

Thank amukuaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOAWOL, Owner at AWOL Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thanks for your feedback on booking an AWOL City walking tour with Ursula. Walking and biking is a great way to experience Cape Town on a first visit.
Kind regards
Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a great township tour with our guide. By being on a bike, it was obvious we were tourists, but contributing to the community through having a guide and using a company that supports and contributes to the community.

It was fascinating and all our questions were answered. Sobering for our girls (aged 9 and 11) but safe and not to be missed because of safety fears. Our car was secure and safe. Only problem was mixing up the directions to get to the meeting point!

1  Thank Nogogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOAWOL, Owner at AWOL Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thanks so much for sharing your experiences of your AWOL Bicycle Township tour. Glad that you felt safe parking and cycling through the township with your daughters. Yes, the misconception of safety in townships does discourage many from doing the tour. Since we started cycling tours in Masiphumelele in 2002, we haven't had any incidents. I feel safer visiting Masiphumelele than walking the main streets in the city. Apologies with the directions provided. Where they incorrect? If so please can you email me and advise on how we can improve on them for future guests to the community.
Happy travelling on future family holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AWOL Tours also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to AWOL Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing