We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cape Town city cycle tour.”
Review of AWOL Tours

AWOL Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.19*
and up
Private Hiking Tour of Table Mountain
More Info
$46.45*
and up
Cape Town City Cycling Tour
More Info
$58.06*
and up
Private Tour: Bicycle Township Tour in Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: AWOL Tours offers exclusive hiking and biking adventures, with opportunities for genuine cultural exchange and natural encounters, personalised to ensure your extraordinary travel experience. AWOL Tours is a leading outdoor travel specialist for hiking and bicycle tourism in Cape Town, South Africa. We offer you opportunities for breathtaking adventure and authentic interactions. Our experienced AWOL team balance expert trip planning with eco-friendly activities, creating thrilling, memorable travel experiences for you. We've been at the forefront of responsible tourism since 2002, with repeated awards and happy client reviews to prove our success.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Cape Town city cycle tour.”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The cycle tour around Cape Town was perfect with teenage children and a great introduction for first time visitors. Our knowledgeable guide covered history, geography and topical information which was appropriate for all the family. We were all given water for our journey which we certainly needed, but we found plenty of shade along the way. We all enjoyed covering areas on our bike that we wouldn't have been able to see on foot or car. We took a little time to find the meeting point but it was a great day out. S, S, L & S

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOAWOL, Owner at AWOL Tours, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thanks so much for sharing your experience of AWOL's city cycle tour of Cape Town with us. We glad you had a wonderful day out with our cycling guide. Thanks for pointing out the difficulties of finding our office at the V&A Waterfront. I will in future make a point of sending detailed map to future visitiors. All the best Sally AWOL Tours director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    54
    5
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Masi-Tour”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

fantastic and humbling experinece to cycle around Masi - to glimpse how much you really need to survive but more than that still be happy. No romantic view of township life but really engaging to see and talk to people who make this community tick. Triggered some rally good and healthy discussions with teens about how much we have and our responsibility to be good stewards of it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AndyandSarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice 2H historic walk”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

It was a pleasant 2 hour historic walk highlighting Cape Town historic milestones. Experienced guide and small group. Perfect for the traveller who wants to know what to visit in Cape Town in terms of its history and plan its days in the city. I recommend AWOL Tours for their experience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank amukuaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOAWOL, Owner at AWOL Tours, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thanks for your feedback on booking an AWOL City walking tour with Ursula. Walking and biking is a great way to experience Cape Town on a first visit.
Kind regards
Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Township tour”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a great township tour with our guide. By being on a bike, it was obvious we were tourists, but contributing to the community through having a guide and using a company that supports and contributes to the community.

It was fascinating and all our questions were answered. Sobering for our girls (aged 9 and 11) but safe and not to be missed because of safety fears. Our car was secure and safe. Only problem was mixing up the directions to get to the meeting point!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nogogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOAWOL, Owner at AWOL Tours, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thanks so much for sharing your experiences of your AWOL Bicycle Township tour. Glad that you felt safe parking and cycling through the township with your daughters. Yes, the misconception of safety in townships does discourage many from doing the tour. Since we started cycling tours in Masiphumelele in 2002, we haven't had any incidents. I feel safer visiting Masiphumelele than walking the main streets in the city. Apologies with the directions provided. Where they incorrect? If so please can you email me and advise on how we can improve on them for future guests to the community.
Happy travelling on future family holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Township bicycle tour”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I went on a bicycle tour of Masiphumelele township. We really enjoyed our trip. While we found it very eye opening, it highlighted how robust their lives and neighborhood can be despite any hardships. We were able to ask our tour guide many questions, as she lives in the township. She was very open to any questions and we found everyone welcoming. It was a very personal experience and we got to experience everything close up - not just from a bus. A word of advice, I had read on other township tours that people recommended bringing candy - I did and felt sooo stupid. I wish I had brought either a donation or school supplies for the daycare we visited. We highly recommend the tour. I will never forget it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank marimily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGOAWOL, Owner at AWOL Tours, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
I am so glad that you had such a memorable experience when visiting Masiphumelele township by bicycle. Thanks for advising other travellers to rather take books, donations, school supplies to preschool rather than candy. So many of the children don't it proper nutritional meals at home so sweets are not what they need. We work hard at supporting the roleplayers in the community such as the pre-school teachers that are instrumental in making a difference. At least then we now that this will make a lasting difference to the children that grow up in townships. All the best for future travels and thanks for making a difference to the lives in Masiphumelele by coming on our township tour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AWOL Tours also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to AWOL Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing