We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Bo-kaap
from $28.99
More Info
from $48.46
More Info
from $41.35
More Info
from $31.06
More Info
Reviews (2,603)
Filter reviews
2,603 results
Traveler rating
964
1,094
470
58
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
964
1,094
470
58
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews colorful houses cape malay malay quarter spice shop muslim community cobbled streets interesting area free walking tour taking pictures interesting history walk around long street signal hill sunny day table mountain mosque photos
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 2,603 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2020

I had read a lot about this area, and seen many pictures showing the beautiful colourful houses. But I must say I was a bit disported... First of all kid of got ripped off for parking in the area. And then you do have a few colourful houses, but really nothing special. I am not sure I would put this area as a "must-see", more like an extra if you happen to have extra time on your hands.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank EricNJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020

Such a unique place with rich history and steeped in tradition. The multi-coloured houses are so significant and i will not ruin the meaning behind them but definitely visit and learn for yourself! We did a half day tour and were so overwhelmed with what we learnt. Highly recommended!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Rav2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2020 via mobile

Just to be clear it’s really just a colorful street and not much else, but it is still worth seeing for the history that must never be forgotten. There is also a cool co-op style store stocked with mostly local artisans. The mosque is a little of a letdown but still worth seeing if you are in the area.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank amberdQ2283YB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020 via mobile

The houses are very colourful and it seemed like we were in another country.The atmosphere was different.we loved it ...thanx to Kabura tours

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Ejaychats2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020

Brightly painted buildings originally for the Malay work-force, with lots of history and something to be conserved.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank diane55berkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews