We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Drive is good enough”
Review of Bo-kaap

Bo-kaap
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.02*
and up
Cultural Cape Town Tour Including Langa and Khayelitsha Townships and Bo-Kaap
More Info
$44.23*
and up
Township Cultural Tour from Cape Town
More Info
$51.34*
and up
Half-Day Walk to Freedom Tour in Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Quick Drive is good enough”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

we wanted to walk through it but got creeped out on the first day and left. we managed to get our cab drive to do a quick drive through the area without dropping off. a well known neighbour for muggers. small area. took us a 5 mins for the drive through. certainly should take a look/drive since you are in cape town. I won't vouch for safety if you are walking.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank gooofygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    549
    243
    28
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bo-Kaap Cooking Tour”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Had a fun day with Zainie Misbach learning the spices and cooking methods of the Malay culture.
I booked the tour as a present for my husband who loves cooking. He said this was the best ever present he has received on his birthday. Learning to mix spices, making the perfect chicken curry, "dhaltjies", samoosas and "flat bread". We had a lunch (food we prepared) in the court yard. This is really a must do, even if you don't like cooking. Zainie is so patient and a master teacher. A short stroll through the colourfull houses from the museum to her kitchen. Also visitng the spice shop and corner cafe where you can purchase frozen dough, samoosas, rooti's, exc. This is a culuniary experience, not to be missed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GroenewaldJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A ten minute detour”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I had put Bo-kaap on our itinerary as a must see in Cape Town. But perhaps it was the weather that put a dampener on my impressions of this small area close to the city centre - a quick drive around the streets was all I felt we needed - pretty painted houses but not much more. Perhaps it was me...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 1963biffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
796 reviews
622 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
“Love the colourful houses”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This area is so colourful, bright and a great and unusual place to visit. There are few little mosques here as this is a Muslim area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janulik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Colourful!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Went to Bo-Kaap for taking pictures and I must say it was worth it. Colourfully painted houses on the slopes of a hill. Period. I didn't see anything there which would suggest there would be any other reason to go there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank zzudhir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bo-kaap also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Bo-kaap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing