We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“If you love colour, you will love the Bo-Kaap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bo-kaap

Bo-kaap
Book In Advance
$39.36*
and up
Cultural Cape Town Tour Including Langa and Khayelitsha Townships and Bo-Kaap
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If you love colour, you will love the Bo-Kaap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

what an amazing district with so much history. And all the colourful houses are really lovely to see. There are a few B&B's and coffee shops as well.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Turkishdreams_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    349
    146
    20
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bo-Kaap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I drive through the Bo-Kaap everyday. It is colorful, ever-changing and warms my heart. Pigeons, school kids and coffee shops are some of the daily scenes I pass on my way to work. Priceless.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss "Cooking in the Bokaap" with Andulela”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

About two weeks ago, I took this cooking tour in Cape Town and enjoyed it immensely! Our knowledgeable guide took us first to the Bokaap museum which gave us a bit of the history of the area and then we visited a spice shop which was wonderful. Then on to our cooking class in the home of a very charismatic member of this community. She was full of personality and made the experience so much fun for all of us - there were eight of us in the group. We made curried chicken and samosas, typical of Cape Malay cuisine. After learning, among other things, how to expertly fold the samosas into a triangle, we finally sat down and enjoyed the meal we had helped to prepare - a terrific and memorable experience!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Soetie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
227 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Haas cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Was fantastic - great lunch , great service, great ambience amongst great art.

We had a great table for a reunion - we took a bottle of champagne and when that was done the staff went down the road to get us another. So helpful and sweet. The food was great and SO SO reasonably priced.
The kitchen is across the road and they have a cute outdoor area - just funky - dont miss if in cape town. loved the experience

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mespey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
281 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Colorful Neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

It was interesting to see the colorfull houses and the mosque. The people there was really nice. We went at the afternoon and the sun orientation was not the best, maybe it is better during the morning. It is worth spending 20-30 minutes.

Helpful?
1 Thank GlobGoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bo-kaap also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Bo-kaap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing