We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO SPECIAL!”
Review of Bo-kaap

Bo-kaap
Book In Advance
More Info
$44.24*
and up
Cultural Cape Town Tour Including Langa and Khayelitsha Townships and Bo-Kaap
More Info
$43.46*
and up
Township Cultural Tour from Cape Town
More Info
$50.45*
and up
Half-Day Walk to Freedom Tour in Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“SO SPECIAL!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife and I grew up in Cape Town and regard the Bo-kaap as a very special part of the city! We often pass through the area on our way to the Waterfront or to Camps Bay via Kloofnek Road. The last time we stopped at the Biesmiellah, a restaurant that serves a great curry. Long may Bo-kaap keep its unique character. We also visited the Bo-kaap museum and found it very interesting. We would have liked more information on the history of the area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank vickyed888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    529
    574
    249
    31
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Get a guide!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A guided tour is by far the best option - you won't find out much about the history, people and how the area has developed by visiting on your own.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Jangles_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“walking with a regested tour guide.”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Bo-Kaap also nkown as the cape merlay quters.was the homes of the slaves who workeda must to do when in cape town for the Dutch East India Company in the 17th centure.Beutifull painted houses with a vibrint culture and historie.Put it on your must do list when visting the mother city,and make sare to get a regested walking guide not to miss the true vibe.
Thanks
Edgar Collins

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Edgar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“reign in colour”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

you get two oposite sides. One is Good high cape, and the other is Good Bo-Kaap! Bo-Kaap is colourful and worth seeing, Cape Malay area and a most wonderful little shop with samosas and spices. Don't miss the museum!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank iTSuTravel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skierniewice
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Small but worth to see”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Small district, but quite interesting to see, because of unique colors of building. I could recommend for short walk around.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pawel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bo-kaap also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Bo-kaap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing