We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconsiderate, staff closed the cable car early out of spite”

Table Mountain Aerial Cableway
Book In Advance
More Info
$247.31*
and up
Private Cape Town City Tour Including Table Mountain Walk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The best views of Cape Town are seen from the top of Table Mountain. The Cableway takes you to the summit in under 5 minutes and the cable car's rotating floor ensure that all visitors get a 360 degree aerial view of the city. The 65-passenger cable car runs from Tafelberg Road to the top of Table Mountain. To date the Cableway has transported more than 26 million visitors to the summit. 900 000 visitors from all over the world use the Cableway annually.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Inconsiderate, staff closed the cable car early out of spite”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My group had been so excited to go to table mountain. It was a glorious evening and the weather was calm. My friend rang the official tourist board to find out that day's operating hours, as they can be variable depending on weather. A nice gentleman told her last car up was 630pm and last down was 730pm. We were thrilled to get to see the sunset. We all bought tickets online @205 rand per person.

When we arrived at the base at 5:35pm we were told they had shut it down we asked why, they said closing was at their discretion. we asked to speak to a manager and a duty manager, Craig Hotnaut (sp?) came and angrily told us there was no chance we could be taken up, that our tickets were worthless and that we should "just get over it". He said he had tweeted the earlier closing time (why would tourists check that??) and that the man we spoke to on the phone had been wrong.

His attitude was egregious, his lack of compassion astounding and his arrogance almost overwhelming. If Craig is the face and manager of one of Sth Africas most important tourist attractions, then it will be very hard to recommend ever visiting the country, despite all of its charms.

We were not the only group to be left high - sorry low- and dry and his lack of empathy and general disdain for excited tourists ruined the entire day for our whole party. Shame on him and shame on Table mountain management.

Lets hope the staff at robben island tomorrow are not so disgusted by having to do their job. If they are we might be leaving SA on the next flight home.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jaimemadera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TableMountainCa, Public Relations Manager at Table Mountain Aerial Cableway, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We certainly do not condone our managers or staff speaking to visitors in this manner. We will investigate this incident further.
Unfortunately the official information office gave the wrong information, as our last Cable Car up the mountain is at 17h30 in April. Friday the 5th was a busy day and we had many people to ferry down the mountain before it got too cold.
However this is no reason to be treated rudely and we do apologise for this.
Sabine Lehmann, MD.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,521
    2,120
    373
    63
    64
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Table Mountain”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

A must see in Cape Town, Very beautiful!! is a full day out though as a lot of people want to get up the mountain. Also very cold when you get up there...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hbloor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't even think about missing this!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

As the weather was turning we decided it would be quicker to use the cable car than hike up.
We weren't disappointed, with a variety of walkways you can choose your difficulty. Superb

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TeamWow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
168 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“great view and easier than walking up”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

its 23 dollars, has a rotating floor, was way quicker and easier than walking and even takes your picture for 25 dollars

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank njword420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fantastic views on a good day.”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

a very quick and efficientway to get to the top,but not especialy cheap.if youre feeling fit you can walk up,but it takes an awfully long time

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank gordonh809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Table Mountain Aerial Cableway also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Table Mountain Aerial Cableway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing