We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I LEARNT AN AWFULL LOT”

South African Jewish Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.14*
and up
Cape Town City Pass including Two Oceans Aquarium and District Six Museum
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“I LEARNT AN AWFULL LOT”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Centrally located to the side of the "Companies Gardens" in down town Cape Town the Jewish museum is easy to find and has plenty of car parking for a city centre venue. My advice is just go and make your own mind up. But GO!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trev N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    156
    28
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This stylish, friendly museum details the history of Jews in S Africa, and their contributions to the development of the country in business, the Arts, politics. Plus a welcome cafe!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lampedusa48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“modern, well layed out museum”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Good use of modern technology and description of Judaism and also of the treatment of Jews during World War 2

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaryM02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
449 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Outstanding Exhibits”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Although the District 6 museum encouraged me to visit this museum, I found not only a new perspective, from a Jewish point of view but also a fantastic exhibit on Japanese netsukes. Recreating the small houses, the set table and artifacts used by this community illuminated and extended the information from the District 6 Museum. Photographs also helped explain the repressive times.We also visited the synagogue. We were so glad we had visited this museum although it had not been on our original itinerary. We highly recommend it and wished we had had more time to examine the other collections here.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank unhappytraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Special Place”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Good, hearty Jewish food and excellent atmosphere. The perfect place to go for refreshment after visiting the Jewish Museum or Holocaust Center

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank meanderthal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South African Jewish Museum also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to South African Jewish Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing