We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and fun times! ”
Review of Lelapa - The Home

Lelapa - The Home
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed May 20, 2019 via mobile

We came here with a very large group and were so remarkably impressed with the variety of foods – which accommodated all of our dietary restrictions. Every dish was VERY delicious… So much so, even our pickiest eaters went for seconds! Additionally there was some wonderful music, to which we had great fun dancing. Highly recommend!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank 672joanneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 74 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2019

We visited with a group of school children and had an amazing meal. The food was fresh and delicious, with something for even the pickiest children! Sheila took wonderful care of us and spoke with passion to the children about her home and her country.
Worth a visit to anyone with an interest in culture or good food!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank davF1598UZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2019

Having landed at Cape Town at 11, we were booked into the restaurant for 1.00, having travelled for the thick end of 24 hours to get to Cape Town. It had the potential to be a bust therefore, as we were already tired (and it was raining), but what a joy. There were 3 main elements to the visit. First was the place itself and our genial hostess, who kept going with her quasi stand up routine, while we were waiting for the food to be ready, secondly there was the entertainment from the singers/musicians but the standout was the food itself. Not really knowing what to expect, I tried a bit of lots of the different dishes on offer - and almost every one was a real hit. This was not somewhere that you would stumble across, situated in Langa Township, but it is well worth seeking out.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank AdrianW1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2019

We had a very nice evening at Lelapa in the Langa Township in Cape Town.
It is the oldest township, we felt safe all the time. Nice people there, a very good food buffet and a local music group. Good price - earning - ratio, strong recommendation !

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RaG673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2019

The experience was one of the most provocative one. The food was beyond tasty. I love it! The story about how the restaurant started was informative and evoked so many emotions. We danced to the marimba band (got a little crazy). I loved this place!

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BringUsJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lelapa - The Home also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Lelapa - The Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing