We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Think Twice” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Blue Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Big Blue Backpackers
Cape Town
1 review
“Think Twice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Two things stand out for me at Big Blue Backpackers:

1) The front desk staff are NOT very helpful, and when they are, it is based purely on whether they like you or not and not on any service based requirement where everyone should be treated equally.

The one receptionist, vacillates between indifference to coming across as depressed on most days and battles to make eye contact with the guests.

The other one just looks thouroughly bored.

The owner himself is known for having bouts of extreme moodiness and then taking out his issues on the receptionists, often berating them in full view of other guests and being totally oblivious to the fact that he is emotionally abusing his staff.

The upside is that there is access to Internet facilities (NOT 24 hour and fast as vikki_sanchez would have you believe).

It is conveniently located 15 minutely walk from the V & A Waterfront and Cape Town Stadium where most international concerts are held.

So, if you can deal with the fickle receptionists whose moods change and depend on how they themselves are being treated by the owner, it's all-in-all an okay place to stay.

Room Tip: Stay away from dorms for long stays. Some of the guests are not into good personal hygiene and tend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    55
    31
    15
    8
See reviews for
9
35
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cape town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is my second time in Big Blue and I will defs go back. it has free 24 hour wi-fi and free fast internet. There is a vibey bar where you can chillout and meet people and enjoy nice beer after a day exploring nearby sights - Waterfront, Signal hill, City Center, beach (to name a few). They offer great deals on tours and its in great location. Room cosy with fan if hot/heater if cold. There is a new manager and a few new staff members who are super friendly and helpful. I miss Shiva the dog who is no more there but overall good, happy, very fun place to stay! I think there is nothing bad to say about Big Blue.

Room Tip: rooms at back are bigger and no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vikki_sanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

very helpful staff. great location. very clean. self catering kitchen with everything you need. just a great place. we stayed in the dorm and it was always clean there is a great atmosphere and i will stay here next time i am in capetown

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yona h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Spent a pleasant 5 days here in the middle of September. The weather was cold, but our room had a tiny radiator that did the trick. This was my first time in a backpacker lodge, and it lived up to expectations! We chose a private with ensuite, and the room was spacious, the bathroom clean and simple. However, word to the wise, there are quite a few stairways, and no elevators.. which is not a problem untill there's a heavy suitcase to be lugged up and down. Thankfully our driver lent a hand.
The staff is pleasant and helpful, and the place is charming.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SabinaGulati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We found a positive...the location and the free wifi but apart from that staff seemed not to really care, we were put in a room different to most others further outside, the toilet was broken and did not flush and no real attempt seemed to be made to fix the problem, there was no cash in the ATM, window in bathroom did not shut let alone lock. Very disappointed given a great stay in a different hostel one night before!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTravellers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We've stayed here over a week and enjoyed ourselves a lot. The location is clean, comfortable and the atmosphere relaxed. Internet is working properly, the showers are divine and the hostel is located very strategically between the Waterfront and city center. Laundry, proper supermarket and ATM are just a minute away. Staff is helpful and friendly, tours that they offer are good value for money. We did the rental car option as well for a couple of days and that has proven to be very doable and cheap as well. The downsides that we read about on other reviews are taken care off and its an overall pleasant and safe place to stay. Would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tobacoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We arrived in Cape Town by plane and we picked up for free by this hostel. We had a double and stayed for 4 nights. The staff was very helpful and gave us good tips on what to do and where to stay. The communal area was relaxed and had a nice atmosphere. We would definitely recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BastiaanWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Never at Home Cape Town
#9 of 130 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 130 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
A Sunflower Stop
#7 of 130 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 130 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
City Bowl
Cape Town Backpackers
Cape Town Backpackers
#30 of 130 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Ashanti Lodge Green Point
#20 of 130 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Blue Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Backpackers

Property: Big Blue Backpackers
Address: 7 Vesperdene Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our backpackers is located centrally in Cape Town, in walking distance from the V&A Waterfront and the city centre (both 10 minutes walk). We offer a great location at afforadable prices with friendly and helpful staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Big Blue Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Backpackers Hotel Cape Town Central
Big Blue Backpackers Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing