We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to visit different pubs”
Review of Long Street

Long Street
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$80.00*
and up
Heritage and Culture Bike Tour in Cape Town
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Lovely place to visit different pubs”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Visit this place at night, lovely atmospher and lots of pubs to visit. Go with a group of friends or with a couple. Everybody friendly. Highly recommend.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Vebs32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    372
    232
    57
    25
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Take Your Pick...”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

One hears may stories about Long Street before one comes to Cape Town - and these stories definitely do it justice. With a wide selection of bars, restaurants and clubs; Long Street really comes alive at night. Whether you're looking to enjoy good food and good wine or dance the night away - this corner of Cape Town knows how to bring it all to the table.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Mohau T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great bars/restaurants, unsafe street at night”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Went to Fork (amazing tapas!!), Beer House (over 99 beer bottles on the wall, a brand new bar) and The Dubliner (had a live band played Michael Jackson, Johnny Cash, Backstreet Boys, etc- very fun). Could not have been a more perfect night of eating and drinking. And it was a short couple of blocks from The Taj were we were staying.

The HUGE problem is pick pocketing. Please be extremely careful when walking in small groups, especially at bar time. They will come up to you and ask your shoe size. Be smart about who you talk to and where/when you are walking. Also, lots of beggars and drug dealing. But the pick pocketers got my phone after I was "over served" so I want to make sure to warn others.

All in all , we had a great night that was

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Ty22287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
785 reviews
615 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 377 helpful votes
“Good selection of restaurants here”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Some of the houses on Long Street are actually very pretty and old. Apart from this two of our favourite restaurants are here also....Fork and Addis in Cape. We walked around during daytime without any problems and also few times during evening also without any problems, there were plenty of security guards around evening time. My husband also bought a SA rugby top in one of the shops, very reasonable price.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Janulik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“the best of cape town in a glance”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I had the pleasure of being taken to a marvelous tour in the surroundings of cape town, the tour guide was awsome and pleasant, had a very warm attitude. The tour itself was great even though weather was awful, recommend checking the weather before booking. Marlene was our tour guide, ask for her!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cryptic86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Long Street also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Long Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing