We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“MY SPOT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clifton Beaches

Clifton Beaches
Book In Advance
$45*
and up
Half Day Cape Point Tour from Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
269 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“MY SPOT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I absolutely LOVE Clifton and have been going there for more than 30 years. 3rd beach is my favourite and the beach vendors are great, friendly and helpful. I don't want to say too many good things or too many people will go there!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    714
    400
    58
    13
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Idyllic spot but can be windy!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We cycled to Clifton beach and thought it was stunning!! Secluded and quiet, bright white sand, waves crashing on to the shoreline and rocks to find shade. Easily passed a day people watching and relaxing. Perfect!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pennylane1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalian, China
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pristine Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great beach you will need to hike down about a 70 foot clif to the beach. The water is very rough and a little chilly but the area is very senic. Not a good beach for young families.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank SteveC888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

One of the lovliest beaches on earth, and if your lucky you may get a visit from the odd inquisitive Penguin!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stoney43_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This beach really wow me. It is clean, safe and the water is nice.
I had a nice time with family and friends and would recommend others to visit the beach as well. It is a very popular beach and I think everyone would enjoy the clear waters.

I must say, from my opinion, this is really one of Cape Town's favourable beaches.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zees_Tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clifton Beaches also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Clifton Beaches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing