We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Heaven!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clifton Beaches

Clifton Beaches
Book In Advance
$52.84*
and up
Half Day Cape Point Tour from Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

One of the lovliest beaches on earth, and if your lucky you may get a visit from the odd inquisitive Penguin!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stoney43_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    758
    424
    60
    15
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

This beach really wow me. It is clean, safe and the water is nice.
I had a nice time with family and friends and would recommend others to visit the beach as well. It is a very popular beach and I think everyone would enjoy the clear waters.

I must say, from my opinion, this is really one of Cape Town's favourable beaches.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zees_Tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yamatokoriyama-shi, Nara, Japan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spent two hours at Cliffton Beach, Cape Town, South Africa.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We were able to park our rented car on the side of the street. Even though it was peak season, were still able to park the car. Enjoyed relaxing on the beach and walking along the beach for two hours. It's not really a place to swim, even though it was the middle of summer, the water is still very cold here. But still a lovely beach to suntan and relax and enjoy sundowners.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarcusS242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Small, clean, quiet beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Clifton is a large stretch of beach sectioned off into four areas (funnily enough, you'll see signs for Beach 3 3/4 as well, whatever that means). It can get pretty crowded over the summer, but overall it's a clean, quiet beach in a safe area. The water is not for swimming, unless you like ice cold water. But you can lie out in the sun and hail down one of the ice cream men for a sweet treat now and then.

I've seen people bring and set up volleyball nets. It can get really windy toward late afternoon, but during midday you can definitely bump a volleyball around.

There aren't really any eateries nearby (it's a residential area), so bring your own food if you plan to stay a while.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Esther Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Clean and safe beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were happy to see that the beach area was clean and safe. However the water was extremely cold, so not really good for swimming

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hooda5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clifton Beaches also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
 

Been to Clifton Beaches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing