We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CAUTION, my bag was stolen from this hotel!”

Cape Victoria Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cape Victoria Guest House
Ranked #142 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 26, 2010

This is a beautiful hotel, however, our experience was soured by the theft of my carry on luggage on the third day of our two-week honeymoon. I have a police report and am working with our insurance company to be reimbursed, but money can't compensate for the inconvenience (lost: glasses, Blackberry, keys to home and car, South Africa travel guide, manual to new camera, etc.) and upsetting feeling of violation that ensued. We have traveled the world and have never had such a disappointing, avoidable experience at a hotel. The police told us crime is expected to get worse as the World Cup nears, so be extra careful. And, definitely don't leave your bags in the "safe keeping" of the co-owner (but do enjoy her banana bread, it's pretty good)!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 32 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2009

My husband and I travel extensively. Our stay at Cape Victoria was one of the best experiences we've ever had. There is something truly magical about Lily... I wish I could put my finger on it, but I can't. Very, very special!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2008

If you are looking for a small guest house near the Cape Town Waterfront, with lots of charm and a wonderful breakfast (including things like home made bananna bread and almond tart) this is the place to stay! Lily, the hostess and owner, was always helpful and friendly, and she and her staff did all they could to make our stay safe and enjoyable. Lily is one of those "special people", and I believe, if you find something wrong with her, then there is something wrong with you! She is a true ambassador for Cape Town! Our room had a balcony with a view out over the roof tops of Cape Town to the bay ..... a great place to have your morning coffee or to enjoy a glass of wine in the evening. Oh yes, and for those interested in the 2010 games, the new stadium is just a short walk away!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ChimoGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2008

We stayed almost two weeks in this lovely manor house and truly enjoyed it every minute of our holiday. Miss Lily was a treasure, she advised where to eat well, places worth visiting and all in all her hospitality was quite unique.
We can highly recommend Victoria Guest House to anyone who wants to have privacy, a good personal touch and a lovely atmosphere to enjoy
Jaakko Katajainen
Taina Myllylä
Helsinki, Finland

Stayed: December 2006
Thank 461,727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2008

This is a gorgeous guest house and was great value for money. Breakfast was fantastic, a mix of cereals, breads, pastries and fruit, it was presented beautifully each morning. The co-owner and host Lily really makes the place. She went out of her way to help us with our stay, from organising a hire car to restaurant suggestions. The Green point area is close to the waterfront however we would recommend hiring a car as you can't really walk to it and you don't really want to be walking to restaurants etc at night.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank seethenew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2008

After our 11and a half hour flight the booked car was waiting to pick us up for the 25min ride back to Cape Victoria Guest House.
We stayed in the Yellow Room as we weren't too bothered about the views from our room.
The house has some beautiful decor and high ceilings and wooden floors. An old house slightly lacks major soundproofing, we could quite easily hear someone in the room above us splashing and sqeaking in thier bath one morning. This was not a major issue.
Breakfast is relaxed and beautifly presented with some lovely home made bread and cakes.
Rooms have TV and have mini-bar facilities at very reasonable rates.
The owner Lilly is ever helpful and we couldn't be made to feel any more at home, she looked after us like her own family!
The location is within a 15 min walk to the water front and 30 mins into central Cape Town. Taxis are swift and plenty and will take you into town for around R45.
In 2010 this guesthouse is within sight of the new World Cup football stadium at Green Point - a very handy location.
A rare find in a cosmopolitan city like Cape Town.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2008

We had read other reviews on Trip Advisor for this Guest House and booked it ourselves. Lily was as special as everyone mentioned. It was our wedding anniversary whilst we were there and when she found out, she came up to the room with a bottle of champage, in an ice-bucket ,and two glasses - so thoughtful.

We did not hire a car and did a lot of walking. It takes 20/25 minutes to walk to the Waterfront and maybe 45 minutes into Cape Town. We were lucky with exchange rate to sterling and so taxis were not too expensive either. We will definitely go back on our next trip to Cape Town and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tissuequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,798 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#44 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,375 reviews
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#10 of 130 in Cape Town Central
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,348 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,813 reviews
A Sunflower Stop
#9 of 130 in Cape Town Central
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Victoria Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Victoria Guest House

Address: Corner of Wigtown and Torbay Roads | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $65 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned on the slopes of Signal Hill in Green Point, The Cape Victoria hosts eight unique luxurious rooms, each en-suite and boasting superb views of Robben Island, Table Bay and Signal Hill. More boutique hotel than guest house, the Cape Victoria is an oasis of taste and serenity ... king size beds swathed in soft white linen and duvets ensure comfy nights of blissful sleep. Indulgences abound, the smell of freshly baked muffins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cape Victoria Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing