We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!”

Iziko South African Museum and Planetarium
Book In Advance
More Info
$51.64*
and up
Half-Day Cape Town City and Table Mountain Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Iziko South African Museum houses more than one and a half million specimens of scientific importance. The collections now range from fossils almost 700-million years old to insects and fish caught last week. There are also stone tools made by people 120 000 years ago, traditional clothes from the last century, and T-shirts printed yesterday.The Planetarium, which is housed in the South African Museum building, is a celestial theatre in the round, utilising the complex Minolta star machine and multiple projectors to transport the audience through the wonders of the universe. The ultimate in armchair travel.Inside the domed auditorium, we can recreate the night sky, so whatever the weather outside, the Planetarium sky is always clear, an extraordinary audio-visual experience for old and young.
Boston
Level Contributor
292 reviews
201 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a very nice museum that is well maintained, has some very interesting displays, and is a jewel of a place to see. Having visited other museums in New York, Washington DC, London, Tokyo and Paris, we would rate this place right up there only because it provided some great information about Africa's history, animals, fish, dinosaurs and climate. Although it can't compete, what they had was very informative, nicely presented, and fun to see. My wife and I were pleasantly surprised. We spent two delightful hours going through the museum, and could have spent much more. Also, they have a very nice restaurant with great cuisine. This is a can't miss place to visit!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank BostonRedSoxFan2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    97
    52
    13
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Must see”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Do not leave Cape Town without visiting here. Excellently presented, the knowledge one gains here of our South African skies, is priceless.

Helpful?
Thank vanlipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A lot to learn”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

A must see place.
Accessible, lots of information, not busy at all.
I was a bit disappointed, thought it would be bigger, with a larger collection.
But still it does teach us a lot about the african culture.
After that you should go to the Iziko Slavery Museum, not far from there.
Oh, and the cafe is very nice as well.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Little_World2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fine if you're ok with trophy hunting”
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

We were going to visit until we heard of the planned exhibition of Peter Flack's trophies. This is someone who has made it is life's work to travel the length and breadth to kill sometimes critically endangered animals for "sport". That this museum sees fit to promote this individual's love of killing/taxidermy is, to mind, morally reprehensible: wouldn't touch this place with a barge pole

Helpful?
Thank Chooqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“it was ok”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

it was interesting enough, but I expected a bit more from a city of the magnitude of Cape Town. I found Port Elizabeth's museum complex way better.

Helpful?
Thank janajakkals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iziko South African Museum and Planetarium also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Iziko South African Museum and Planetarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing