We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More to this castle than at first glance”

Castle of Good Hope
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.52*
and up
City Tour of Cape Town
More Info
$51.64*
and up
Half-Day Table Mountain and Cape Town City Tour
More Info
$114.41*
and up
Cape Town City Private Art Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Credited as South Africa’s oldest building, this 17th-century castle houses various military personnel, historic artifacts and artworks.
Redding, California
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“More to this castle than at first glance”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

It takes a little searching, but there's more to this castle than it might seem upon arrival. The castle has been well-built--it has an overall clean and simple structure, but in the smaller spaces there's interesting features and even four or five museums within the complex.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank m h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    240
    207
    63
    32
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Centurion
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not that impressive.... at all”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I went to the castle year ago (as a little girl) and was a tad disappointed returning there today. The buildings looked neglected and without an official tour guide I felt very lost.... Yes, there are maps for sale and snippets of info on plaques scattered around the premises, but I struggled to figure out the what/where/why. Directions are very unclear. It was difficult to figure out which areas/rooms are accessible to tourists and which ones are offices (this is a fully functional military base as well). I will rather read up a little more about the Castle before I go again (if I go again) - although a tourist attraction (especially a historical landmark) should not require you to know everything beforehand? The newer displays in the Military Museum sponsored by Lotto are much more impressive and well maintained - so is this simply a funding issue? I popped into the restaurant/kiosk to get something to drink and the man behind the counter was quite grumpy and unfriendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank roelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
796 reviews
622 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
“Not really castle looking”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This doesn't really look like a castle, more like a fort. We have visited as this is quite an old fort and looks quite interesting. We have enjoyed walking around and exploring different rooms. There is an exhibition of old furniture and pictures, guns and also different pottery. There is a cafe and toilet facilities. If you come on a clear day the views of Table Mountain are pretty stunning.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Janulik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Demise of a historical landmark!!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Being in the SA Defence Force back in the 80's I visited the Castle on military business and as a military institution then (and supposedly now), everything and I mean everything was neat, clean, impeccable and in place. Unfortunately with the change of the political climate this historical & once beautiful landmark has deteriorated to such an extent that its actually an embarrasment! In any event there's still plenty to observe and experience, unfortunately with vandals around previously accessible areas are now no-go zones. Cafeteria and its service levels are below par, no cold softdrinks during our visit. Overall worth a visit for its historical value but don't expect it to be South Africa's Pentagon!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Piet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lame”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We went on a Sunday afternoon and while we received a discounted rate "because there are no tours on Sunday" -- what we weren't told is that virtually every door and exhibit was closed.

Have been to a ton of original forts, castles and the like -- and this was the most disappointing by far. You got the sense that it wouldn't have been a whole lot better if more things were open. The stuff that was open was very tired looking and not that well done.

So many other beautiful and interesting ways to spend your time in Cape Town. Don't make the mistake of killing time here.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank RiveraceAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle of Good Hope also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Castle of Good Hope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing