We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel”
Review of The Walden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Walden House
Ranked #20 of 155 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rapallo, Italy
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice boutique hotel”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great place to stay in Cape Town. The property is lovely, rooms are spacious with cozy bathrooms. Breakfast is served in a very romantic room, full of light. The location is in a quiet and peaceful road, but not far from main city attractions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fractal65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    70
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
37
172
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed a Walden House over christmas 2012 and were really impressed with the place. The staff went out of their way to help and were really good at booking tables and recommending places to go. Our room was really big, the bathroom in particular was lovely.

They really put some personal touches in including crackers on christmas day and individual presents for all the guests. We couldn't have been happier with the service or the place and the location is a great base though I would advise a car to get around.

Room Tip: We had room 5 which had a door directly onto the balcony and was really spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElleC80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

If we return to Cape Town, we wouldn't dream of staying at any other place. We were there for nine wonderful days and nights over the Christmas holidays. It had been recommended by a friend and, in turn we would like to recommend it to anyone who wants a comfortable, friendly, attractive place to stay with a genuinely personal touch. The breakfasts are beyond compare; the staff couldn't be more helpful; the location is ideal for experiencing the authentic Cape Town and its many fine attractions and restaurants. It was a completely positive experience for us and the fact that we stayed at Walden House enhanced our trip to this fascinating city in every way. It's a long way from San Francisco but we hope to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trn89sfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandlers Ford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended this B&B by a mutual friend - we had a very warm welcome even though we checked in early . Our room was very luxurious and the bed was the comfiest that we have ever slept in . Our daughters 's room was equally so. The whole place has been very tastefully decorated throughout and has a small pool in the tranquil garden which was most welcome too !
We couldn't get a taxi New Year's Eve so the receptionist gave us a lift to the waterfront area and back.
My husband wanted to watch an " important " new years day game on sky and although it wasn't available on our tv the lady managed to find it for us and get it into our room
Any information that we needed if it wasn't in the room pack they would find us the answers within a matter of minutes so we would defiantly recommend this lovely establishment

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Whether it's a short or long stay Walden House is the place to stay in Cape Town. I only stayed for one night, and the only disappointment was that I didn't stay longer. Good location. Service was top notch! Breakfast was outstanding, they even catered to my special diet. The history and architecture of the Walden House is beautiful. This can certainly be your home away from home!

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank activeladont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamboerskloof
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I have stayed at Walden House a few times and have always enjoyed my stay. The staff are helpful and friendly. Perfectly siituated for easy access to all amenities but it still has a relaxed, comfortable feel. I will definately be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank megan070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is a great place to stay in Cape Town. We were there for 5 days. The staff at the hotel were excellent and helped us with advice on Robben Island, whales at Hermanus, restaurants, when to go to Table Mountain etc. The hotel also had an excellent breakfast to start the day and was located by some great restaurants and bars within walking distance. We had an upstairs room with great views of Table Mountain. They were clean and comfortable. They also have a secured parking lot. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who makes a trip to Cape Town.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 7 and a friend stayed in Room 1 and after seeing some of the others you can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Copperdesk63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,391 reviews
An African Villa
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
990 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Four Rosmead
Four Rosmead
#3 of 109 in Cape Town Central
526 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 155 in Cape Town Central
1,016 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 155 in Cape Town Central
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Walden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walden House

Property: The Walden House
Address: 5 Burnside Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Walden House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled against the backdrop of majestic Table Mountain lies one of the Cape's finest guest houses - The Walden House.To some it is a luxurious retreat from which to explore the beauty of the Cape Peninsula. It is situated only five minutes from Cape Town's finest beaches, Table Mountain and the V&A Waterfront.There are seven en-suite rooms. Each suite is furnished in a different style, creating a delightful ambience for every taste.At The Walden House, luxury is achieved through attention to details, complete comfort and courteous, unobtrusive service.We offer:Wireless internet access, secure parking, 24h security, airport transfer, private tours, air conditioning, full breakfast included ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The Walden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walden House Hotel Cape Town Central
The Walden House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing